New Court Chambers

London Office

Current View:

This content is provided by New Court Chambers.

Heads of Chambers: Giles Bain, Christopher Poole
Senior Clerk: Paul Bloomfield
First Junior Clerk: James Stammers
Tenants: 33

Members of New Court Chambers advise and represent clients in all aspects of family law, with the majority of members specialising in the demanding area of child protection.

London based but nationally recognised, members of New Court Chambers are regularly instructed in complex cases, including some of the most significant family law cases before the courts.

Loyal clients of chambers include numerous Local Authorities from London and the South East of England as well as solicitors for parents, children and children’s guardians.

Members also represent parents and children in private law matters, including complex cases involving such difficulties as parental alienation and stranding.

On the money side of family law, members are ranked for their work in complex and high value money cases including applications under TOLATA and Schedule 1 Children Act 1989.

Given the overlap with the principles familiar in the family courts, certain members advise and represent clients in Court of Protection matters.

Chambers invests significant time and resources into pupillage training and is proud that the majority of members have joined chambers on the successful completion of in-house pupillage.

A growing number of members are eligible to accept work directly from lay clients as part of the public access scheme.

A team of experienced and supportive clerks ensures there is a seamless working relationship between the members of chambers and clients.

New Court Chambers has forged its reputation on a commitment to provide consistently high standards of advice, representation and clerking services.


Giles Bain (1993)

Christopher Poole (1996)

Ann Courtney (1987)

Elissa Da Costa-Waldman (1990)

Stephen Coyle (1998)

Dinali Nanayakkara (2000)

Sarah McMeechan (2000)

Andrew Shaw (2001)

Wing Chan (2002)

Stephanie Hine (2003)

Sam Wallace (2004)

Saiqa Chaudhry (2005)

Sally Jackson (2006)

Kyriacos Lefteri (2006)

Nicola Hall (2006)

Sally Homer (sol 2006) (2012)

Robert Wilkinson (2007)

Matthew Burman (2007)

Raisa Saley (2008)

Philippa Jenkins (2008)

Laura Harrington (2009)

Kayleigh Long (2009)

Julia Feely (2009)

Jemimah Hendrick (2009)

Sarah Nuttall (2011)

Kathryn Blair (2012)

Katherine Couper (2012)

Sabrina Polak (2012)

Amelia Evans (2014)

Meredith Major (2015)

Sam Prout (2016)

Niamh Daly (2018)

Kezia Kernighan (2018)