Firm / Organisation

Old Square Chambers

Current View:

This content is provided by Old Square Chambers.

Head of Chambers: Oliver Segal QC
Senior Clerk: William Meade
Tenants: 75

THE CHAMBERS Old Square Chambers is widely respected as one of the leading employment, personal injury and healthcare sets, both in London and Bristol, and known for its excellent service and unstuffy approach, pro-activity and responsiveness to client needs. Further specialisms include professional discipline, clinical negligence, environment, health and safety, public law and human rights, product liability, investigations, public inquiries, and mediation/ADR.


Old Square is acknowledged as one of the leading sets in employment and discrimination law. It has been instrumental in establishing recent legal precedents, including the important fees judgment, holiday pay and worker status.

Personal Injury: Members are regularly instructed in high value head, brain and spinal injury cases, including many involving ex service personnel, disaster litigation, multi-party actions and injuries abroad.

Clinical Negligence: Members have extensive experience in all areas including cerebral palsy, acquired brain damage claims, cauda equina and catastrophic injuries as well as dental negligence and obstetric and orthopaedic claims.

Professional Discipline: Members have been at the forefront of developing the law relating to injunctive relief and disciplinary procedures in a variety of sectors including healthcare, education financial services and sport.

Environment: Members have comprehensive experience, particularly in cases involving nuisance, water law, contaminated land, statutory nuisance, waste management law and the application of EU law.

Health & Safety: Members are involved in both regulatory prosecutions/defence and public inquiries. Cases are often high-profile, involving serious injury, fatality, and corporate manslaughter. Operating nationally, Old Square has extensive experience in a wide range of sectors.

Product Liability: Members undertake Consumer Protection Act prosecutions, product recall and product labelling work and are highly experienced in multi-claimant litigation, especially involving pharmaceuticals.

Public Inquiries: Members have been instructed in most of the significant or high-profile inquiries in recent years, including Leveson, Potters Bar, Ufton Nevert Train Crash, Mubarek, Shipman, Climbie, Ladbroke Grove, Marchioness, Southall Train Crash, North Wales Child Abuse and Bristol Royal Infirmary.

Public Law & Human Rights: Members appear in a range of significant judicial review claims and have been particularly innovative in their use of Article 6 in disciplinary cases and Article 11 in industrial action cases.

Mediation: Members are experienced CEDR trained and accredited mediators in employment, discrimination, personal injury and clinical negligence cases.

Pupillage: Please see the website for details. Old Square offers an excellent training, interesting work, a collegiate environment and an excellent chance of tenancy.


Oliver Segal QC (1992) (QC-2011)

Frederic Reynold QC (1960) (QC-1982)

Stephen Grime QC (1970) (QC-1987)

John Hendy QC (1972) (QC-1987)

Paul Rose QC (1981) (QC-2002)

Mary O’Rourke QC (1981) (QC-2009)

Mark Sutton QC (1982) (QC-2011)

Simon Gorton QC (1988) (QC-2011) Prof

Sandra Fredman QC (2002) (QC-2012)

Michael Ford QC (1992) (QC-2013)

Ben Collins QC (1996) (QC-2016) +

Ben Cooper QC (2000) (QC-2017)

Simon Cheetham QC (1991) (QC-2018)

Ijeoma Omambala QC (1989) (QC-2020)

Deshpal Panesar QC (1993) (QC-2020)

Rebecca Tuck QC (1998) (QC-2020)

Katharine Newton QC (1999) (QC-2020)

John H Bates (1973)

Toby Kempster (1980)

Louise Chudleigh (1987)

Ijeoma Omambala (1989)

Jonathan Clarke (1990)

Christopher Walker (1990)

Giles Powell (1990)

Ian Scott (1991)

Brian Cummins (1992)

Helen Gower (1992)

Deshpal Panesar (1993)

Michael Nicholson (1993)

Stephen Garner (1994)

Katherine Howells (1994)

Elizabeth Melville (1994)

Jack Mitchell (1994)

Cyril Adjei (1995)

Melanie Tether (1995)

Robin White (1995)

Charles Woodhouse (1997)

Tom Gent (1998)

Spencer Keen (1998)

Rebecca Tuck (1998)

Hilary Winstone (1998)

Stuart Brittenden (1999)

Sarah Keogh (1999)

Katharine Newton (1999)

Anya Palmer (1999)

Oliver Isaacs (2000)

Robert Moretto (2000)

Bella Webb (2000)

Eleena Misra (2001)

Betsan Criddle (2002)

David Rivers (2002)

Adam Samuel (2003)

Hannah Freeman (2004)

Nadia Motraghi (2004)

David Cunnington (2005)

Naomi Rees (2006)

Christopher Edwards (2006)

Charlie Sparling (2006)

Kara Loraine (2006)

Tom Kirk (2007)

Nicola Newbegin (2008)

James Chegwidden (2008)

Victoria Webb (2009)

Lance Harris (2010)

Rosalie Snocken (2010)

Laith Dilaimi (2011)

Sophie Beesley (2012)

Adam Ross (2013)

Madeline Stanley (2013)

Bruno Gil (2014)

Darshan Patel (2014)

Ben Jones (2015)

Tara O’Halloran (2015)

Rachel Owusu-Agyei (2015)

Andrew Bell (2016)

Camille Ibbotson (2016)

Conor Kennedy (2016)

Joanne Twomey (2017)

Alex Shellum (2018)

+ Recorder