Firm / Organisation

29 Bedford Row Chambers

Current View:

This content is provided by 29 Bedford Row Chambers.

Head of Chambers: Philip Cayford QC
Senior Clerk: James Shortall
Clerks: Julie Holcombe, Hudson Brewer, Ben Cross, Jamie Critchell
Fees Clerks: Steve Pickin
Chambers Administrator: Nicola Kessell
Tenants: 58

THE CHAMBERS 29 Bedford Row Chambers is committed to providing its clients with an effective and efficient legal service. It operates from three magnificent Grade II listed buildings in the heart of legal London, completely modernised for the latest technology.

WORK UNDERTAKEN Chambers offers specialist expertise at every level of seniority in all aspects of family law including matrimonial finance, children (both public and private law), child abduction, co-habitation law, domestic violence and under the Civil Partnership and Inheritance Acts. Chambers has a strong team of top flight financial remedy practitioners. 17 members of Chambers are trained as Collaborative Lawyers. Several members practise as Mediators and several are qualified as Family Law Arbitrators. A number of senior members of Chambers also chair private FDRs and Early Neutral Evaluation hearings and, with two large boardrooms and three new conference rooms (including an AV room), chambers is well suited to these ever more important forms of alternative dispute resolution. Some members of Chambers accept Public Access instructions. Several former members of chambers have been given judicial appointments, and many current members sit as Deputy High Court Judges or as Recorders or Deputy District Judges. Chambers organises a comprehensive seminar programme which is highly regarded by solicitors and trainees. Members of chambers appear in courts around the country and abroad. Chambers has dedicated conference rooms, but members will travel to see clients wherever necessary.

ADMINISTRATION Chambers is served by nine full time clerks and a dedicated fees clerk, allowing work to be processed quickly and efficiently. The clerks’ room is open between 8.30 am and 7.00 pm, but emergency contact is always available outside that time. The clerking is praised for its efficient, friendly and commercial approach.

For information about the work of chambers generally, or the practice of individual members of chambers in particular, please contact the Senior Clerk, James Shortall, or visit the website.


Philip Cayford QC (1975) (QC-2002)

Timothy Scott QC (1975) (QC-1995)

Paul Storey QC (1982) (QC-2001)

Robert Peel QC (1990) (QC-2010)

Patrick Chamberlayne QC (1992) (QC-2010)

Piers Pressdee QC (1991) (QC-2010)

Howard Shaw QC (1973) (QC-2011)

Christopher Wagstafffe QC (1992) (QC-2011)

Jonathan Southgate QC (1992) (QC-2013)

Alexis Campbell QC (1990 (QC-2017)

Brent Molyneux QC (1994) (QC-2017)

Nicholas Allen QC (1995) (QC-2018)

Peter Duckworth (1971)

The Hon Clare Renton (1972)

Jonathan Swift (1977)

Indira Ramsahoye (1980)

Jacqueline Wehrle (1984)

David Walden-Smith (1985)

Mark Emanuel (1985)

Stephen Reynolds (1987)

Alexa Storey-Rea (1990)

Nicholas Chapman (1990)

Lee Arnot (1990)

Annabel Wentworth (1990)

Jonathan Tod (1990)

Sally Max (1991)

Richard Bates (1992)

Victoria Domenge (1993)

Judith Butler (1993)

Roshi Amiraftabi (1993)

Peter Mitchell (1996)

Ken Collins (1996)

Sassa-Ann Amaouche (1996)

Dafydd Griffiths (1997)

Lucy Owens (1997)

Laura Heaton (1998)

Georgina Black (1999)

Simon Calhaem (1999)

Anthony Geadah (2000)

Victoria Francis (2001)

Ben Fearnley (2001)

Max Lewis (2002)

Christopher Butterfield (2004)

Lynsey Cade Davies (2005)

Richard Tambling (2005)

Petra Teacher (2006)

Conor Fee (2006)

Helen Williams (2007)

Amber Sheridan (2008)

Anton Eriera (2010)

James Finch (2011)

Matthew Long (2011)

Miriam Foster (2011)

James Pullen (2012)

Charlotte Trace (2012)

Emily Page (2012)

Joseph Switalski (2014)

James Cooper (2014)