Firm / Organisation

Hailsham Chambers

Current View:

This content is provided by Hailsham Chambers.

Head of Chambers: David Pittaway QC
Senior Clerk: Stephen Smith
Tenants: 49

THE CHAMBERS Hailsham Chambers strives to provide clients with excellent service. The award winning set is frequently praised for its friendly and helpful clerking, the quality of its members’ work and for its reliability. Established more than 100 years ago and today offering 49 barristers, ten of whom are silks, Hailsham Chambers contains many of the most sought-after barristers at the London Bar. The set’s progressive thinking and use of modern technologies help chambers to run efficiently and to offer clients choice and flexibility.

WORK UNDERTAKEN Hailsham acts for claimants and defendants, providing advice and representation before all levels of courts and tribunals throughout the world, in the specialist areas of:

Professional Negligence: In cases involving lawyers, accountants, auditors, surveyors, valuers, financial professionals and trustees, as well as advising about professional indemnity insurance coverage points.

Clinical Negligence: Acting for patients and their relatives and dependants, trusts, doctors, dentists, healthcare professionals, health authorities, private hospitals and clinics in civil litigation, at inquests and in the Court of Protection.

Costs Litigation: Involving points of principle and advising in disputes between solicitor and client, retainers, funding arrangements, DBAs, CFAs and costs budgets.

Professional Discipline: Advice and advocacy before tribunals and regulatory bodies, both medical and non-medical.

Personal Injury: Acting for claimants and defendants and their insurers in RTA claims and claims based upon employer’s, occupier’s, public and product liability, with an emphasis on cases of high value and complexity.

Commercial Dispute Resolution: Acting in general commercial matters such as insurance claims, fraud and partnership disputes.

To find out about the availability of counsel, please contact Hailsham’s clerking team on 020 7643 5000 or by email at [email protected]


David Pittaway QC (1977) (QC-2000)

Michael Pooles QC (1978) (QC-1999)

Dominic Nolan QC (1985) (QC-2006)

Julian Picton QC (1988) (QC-2010)

William Flenley QC (1988) (QC-2010)

Andrew Post QC (1988) (QC-2012)

Alexander Hutton QC (1992) (QC-2012)

Nicola Rushton QC (1993) (QC-2018)

Jamie Carpenter QC (2000) (QC-2020)

Jane Tracy Forster (1975)

Jane Mishcon (1979)

Fiona Neale (1981)

Derek Holwill (1982)

Matthew Jackson (1986)

Francis Bacon (1988)

Simon Howarth (1991)

Dr Tejina Mangat (1990)

Simon Wilton (1993)

Nicholas Peacock (1992)

Sarah Christie-Brown (1994)

Spike Charlwood (1994)

Catherine Ewins (1995)

Dan Stacey (1996)

Dr Mark Friston (1997)

Dr Peter Ellis (1997)

Eva Ferguson (1999)

Joshua Munro (2001)

James Gilberthorpe (2002)

Lucy MacKinnon (2003)

Imran Benson (2005)

David Bennett (2005)

Alice Nash (2006)

Henry Bankes-Jones (2004)

Niamh O’Reilly (2007)

Heather McMahon (1999)

Stephen Bailey (2006)

David Juckes (2008)

Justin Meiland (2010)

Nicholas Pilsbury (2008)

Thomas Crockett (2009)

Nicola Campbell-Clause (2010)

Richard Anderton (2010)

Richard Beaty (2012)

Clementine Coram James (2012)

Alicia Tew (2012)

Theo Barclay (2013)

David Story (2012)

Jack Steer (2013)

Jake Coleman (2013)

Michael Patrick (2014)

Clare Elliott (2015)

Alexander Echlin (2017)

Lucile Taylor (2018)

Tom Stafford (2018)

Christopher Cooke (2018)

Joe Docherty (2019)