Firm / Organisation

Guildhall Chambers

Current View:

This content is provided by Guildhall Chambers.

Head of Chambers: Anna Vigars QC
Chief Executive: Christy Farrer
Principal Crime Clerk: Lucy Northeast
Crime Clerks:
Grant Bidwell, Elena Brake, Ezweni Ncube
Civil Clerks: Mike Norton, Chris Checketts, Wendy Shaw, Heather Bidwell, Lisa Mainwaring, Olive Kavanagh
Tenants: 84


One of the foremost criminal sets in the country with specialist expertise in sexual offences and child abuse, major public order cases, civil liberties and all types of appeal, as well as homicide, violence, drugs and vehicle crime. Commercial: All aspects of CDR work in Court, arbitrations, adjudications and other ADR procedures.

Banking & Financial Services:
Mortgages and charges, guarantees and indemnities, other third party securities, issues relating to the Consumer Credit Act, receiverships and retail banking transactions.

Professional Negligence & Indemnity:
Expertise in all areas of professional liability acting for defendants and claimants in respect of negligence, breach of contract, breach of fiduciary duty and breach of trust.

Company Law:
Key areas of expertise include the interpretation and dispute resolution of commercial contracts, partnership and joint ventures, shareholder agreements, the allotment and transfer of shares, directors’ duties, shareholder disputes, derivative claims, just and equitable windings up.

Employment & Discrimination:
Broad range of employment and discrimination expertise including unfair, constructive and wrongful dismissal; contractual disputes; actionable discrimination; TUPE; and many more.

All aspects of insolvency and company law, including corporate, partnership and personal insolvency, corporate and partnership break-up, CDDA etc.

Property & Estates:
Full range of chancery work, including real property, landlord and tenant, agriculture, trusts, wills, estates and the Court of Protection and Planning.

Personal Injury:
Work ranges from industrial and workplace accidents to fatalities and road traffic accidents with particular experience of acting for insurers in complex group claims.

Clinical Negligence:
All aspects of litigation from minor to catastrophic claims acting for public and privately funded claimants, the NHSLA, NWSSP, Legal and Risk Services, Medical Defence organisations, and commercial providers of care.

Administrative & Public Law:
Specialists who act for both claimants and defendants in significant appeals, judicial review proceedings, and statutory challenges with expertise in immigration, inquests, licensing, local government and in the Court of Protection.

Court of Protection:
The barristers have extensive experience in advising and representing various parties in Court of Protection cases concerning personal welfare, property and affairs, serious medical treatment, deprivation of liberty and human rights claims.

Regulatory & Discipline:
All aspects of professional disciplinary proceedings and regulation with specific experts in environment, financial services, fraud, health and safety, inquests and licensing. Other: Specialist expertise in sports law and costs and litigation funding.


Richard Smith QC (1986) (QC-2001) +

Andrew Langdon QC (1986) (QC-2006) + A

Christopher Quinlan QC (1992) (QC-2011)+ A

John Whitting QC (1991) (QC-2011) ++

Hugh Sims QC (1999) A (QC-2014)

Anna Vigars QC (1996) (QC - 2017)+

Ian Dixey (1984) A

George Newsom (1973) A

Adam Chippindall (1975) +

Ian Fenny (1978) A

Malcolm Warner (1979)

William Batstone (1982) A

John Virgo (1983)

Susan Cavender (2004) A

Raj Sahonte (1986) A

Ray Tully (1987) A

Nicolas Gerasimidis (1988) A

David Scutt (1989)

Nicholas Smith (1990)

Charles Thomas (1990)

Virginia Cornwall (1990)

Stephen Dent (1991) A

Selena Plowden (1991)

Julian Benson (1991)

Anthony Reddiford (1991)

John Snell (1991)

Brendon Moorhouse (1992) A

Matthew Wales (1993) °° A

Gerard McMeel (1993)

Mark Worsley (1994) A

Gabriel Farmer (1994)

Richard Ascroft (1995) A

Ramin Pakrooh (1996)

Ewan Paton (1996) A

Debbie Grennan (1997)

Lucy Walker (2008)

Oliver Moore (2005)

Christopher Hare (1998)

Julian Allsop (1999)

Katherine Gibb (1999)

Timothy Walsh (2000) A

Robert Sowersby (2000)

Tara Wolfe (2000)

Pushpanjali Gohil (2000)

Jenny Tallentire (2000)

Martin Lanchester (2001) A

James Bennett (2002)

Stefan Ramel (2002)

Tom Panton (2002)

Douglas Leach (2003)

Louise Jones (2004)

Abigail Stamp (2004)

Allan Roberts (2004)

James Haskell (2004)

Jorren Knibbe (2005)

Mary Cowe (2006)

Rhys Hadden (2006) ++

Gabriel Beeby (2006)

Michael Selway (2007)

Rebecca Stickler (2007)

Paul Lewis, (2007)

Katie Hooper (2008)

Daniel Neill (2008)

Holly Doyle (2008)

Samuel Jones (2008) A

James Wibberley (2009) A

Simon Passfield (2009)

Sophie Holme (2009)

Oliver Mitchell (2009)

Caighli Taylor (2010)

Gregory Gordon (2010)

Suzanne Staunton (2010)

Geraint Probert (2010)

Matthew Brown (2011)

Kriti Upadhyay (2011)

Jay Jagasia (2012)

Alistair Haggerty (2012)

James Bentley (2012)

James Hannant (2013)

Brittany Pearce (2015)

Grace Flynn (2015)

Samuel Parsons (2015)

John Churchill (2016)

+ Recorder

* Deputy High Court Judge

++ Door Tenant

°° Deputy District Judge

A Public/ Direct Access

Articles, Highlights and Press Releases

Total 3 Articles, Highlights and Press Releases

ASSET LAND V FCA: Collective investment schemes & some long overdue guidance from the supreme court

John Virgo and Jay Jagasia

Read now
Clean air for all?

Brendon Moorhouse

Read now
Corporate Criminal Liability

James Bennett and Brendon Moorhouse

Read now