Firm / Organisation

Pump Court Chambers

Current View:
Also ranked in:

This content is provided by Pump Court Chambers.

Head of Chambers: Oba Nsugbe QC
Senior Clerk: Tony Atkins
Senior Criminal Clerk: Tony George
Senior Civil Clerk: Jonathan Cue 
Senior Family Clerk: Sean Gentleman
Tenants: 103

THE CHAMBERS Pump Court Chambers is one of the leading common law sets at the Bar with chambers in London, Swindon and Winchester. Dedicated to providing high quality legal services across a broad range of practice areas, members pride themselves on the service they provide to clients. Established over 70 years ago barristers, mediators and arbitrators specialise in civil, criminal, family and International law.


Civil: The team, made up of over 40 practising members including two silks continues to grow in strength. Chambers has particular expertise in all areas of business and commercial, employment, inheritance, property, personal injury and clinical negligence, professional negligence, regulatory and transport law.

Family: With over 60 members including three QCs, two arbitrators and one mediator, Pump Court Chambers has one of the largest specialist family law teams at the Bar. The team practices in four main areas: family finance, court of protection work and children law; public and private. The family finance team undertakes a wide spectrum of work from complex high net worth ‘big money’ cases to actions with more modest assets and incomes. The private children law team specialises in residence and contact disputes as well as applications for permission to remove children from the jurisdiction. In public law Chambers advises and represents local authorities, parents and guardians in all areas of children work.

International: Chambers enjoys a strong international practice, members provide advice and representation throughout the UK and abroad. Oba Nsugbe QC, SAN is widely acknowledged as one of the UK’s and Nigeria’s leading barristers and arbitrators. Anthony Akiwumi is admitted as an Attorney of the Cayman Islands and has practised in this jurisdiction since 1997. Jason Nickless has been called to the Bar in the British Virgin Islands.

Regulatory & Criminal: Pump Court Chambers’ advocates enjoy an outstanding reputation. Over the last 20 years more than 15 of the group have become Circuit Judges. Chambers’ regulatory lawyers have expertise in disciplinary, local authority statutory regulation and compliance, health and safety, transport, financial regulation, fraud and corporate manslaughter. The criminal team covers the fields of sexual offences, violence and courts martials.


Oba Nsugbe QC (1985) (QC-2002) +

Nigel Pascoe QC (1966) (QC-1988)

Susan Campbell QC (1986) (QC-2009)*

Leslie Samuels QC (1989) (QC-2011) +

Penny Howe QC (1991) (QC-2017)

James Newton-Price QC (1992) (QC-2018)

Sarah Jones QC (1996) (QC-2019)

Frank Abbott (1972) +

Charles Parry (1973) +

John Ker-Reid (1974)

Charles Gabb (1975)

Julie MacKenzie (1978) +

Stephen Jones (1978)

Margaret Pine-Coffin (1981)

Martin Blount (1982)

Kevin Haven (1982) +

Matthew Scott (1985)

Hugh Travers (1988)

Justin Gau (1989)

Edward Boydell (1989)

Andrew Houston (1989)

Anthony Akiwumi (1989) *

Catherine Breslin (1990)

Helen Khan (1990)

Gary Self (1991)

Julian Reed (1991)

Imogen Robins (1991)

Geoffrey Kelly (1992)

Mark Ruffell (1992)

Leonorah Smith (1993)

Mark Ashley (1993)

Oliver Peirson (1993)

Tom Wilkins (1993)

Christopher Wilkins (1993) +

Daniel Reilly (1995) *

Richard Hall (1995)

Mark Dubbery (1996) +

Peter Asteris (1996)

Andrew Grime (1997) +

Ruth Arlow (1997)

Maria Gallagher (1997)

Anne Ward (1997) +

Amy Ephgrave (1997)

Timothy Dracass (1998)

Andrew Bond (1999)

Louise De Rozarieux (1999)

Richard Tutt (2000)

Lubeya Ramadhan (2000)

Emily Hamilton (2000)*

Naznin Islam (2000)

Stuart McGhee (2000)

Jason Nickless (2001)

Caroline Hartley (2002)

Heather Platt (2002) +

Neelo Shravat (2002)

David Josty (2002)

John Dyer (2002)

Simon Lane (2002) +

Helen Brander (2002)

John Chapman (2003)

Charlotte Street (2003)

Zoe Rudd (2003)

Lucy Davis (2003)

Conor Mullan (2003)

Amy Berry (2003) +

Claire Fox (2003)

Adam Gadd (2004)

Eleanor Fargin (2004)

Tara Lyons (2005) +

Timothy Akers (2005)

Alexandra Gilmore (2005)

Rachel Troup (2005)

Corinne Iten (2006)

Amelia Sugden (2006)

Patricia O’Driscoll (2006)

Jennifer Lee (2007)

Daniella Gilbert (2007)

Eleanor Bruce (2008)

Simon Purkis (2008)

Guy Draper (2008)

Jennifer Swan (2009)

Nicholas Williamson (2009)

Paul Mertens (2010)

Victoria Ellis (2010)

Naomi Gyane (2010)

Timothy Salisbury (2010)

Jack Rundall (2011)

Andrew Stone (2011)

Ezra Macdonald (2012)

Maria Henty (2012)

Jesse Cook (2012) +

Naima Asif (2012)

Lucy Plumpton (2013)

Samuel Burrett (2013)

Cordelia Williams (2014) +

Mark Ablett (2014)

Ricky Powell (2014)

Richard Wayman (2015)

Alice Scott (2015)

Samara Brackley (2016)

Antonia Ford (2017)

Lucy Morell (2017)

Stephen Fielding +

* Associate Member

+ Mediator/Arbitrator