Firm / Organisation

One Essex Court

This content is provided by One Essex Court.

THE CHAMBERS One Essex Court is a pre-eminent commercial set of barristers’ chambers in London. Members provide specialist legal advice, support and advocacy services worldwide, and the barristers’ expertise covers all areas of arbitration, litigation, regulation and dispute resolution.

THE SET Chambers’ work embraces all aspects of domestic and international trade, business, commerce and finance. Barristers at One Essex Court are recognised specialist counsel in the many diverse fields of commercial law, also regularly accepting nominations as arbitrators, mediators and experts.

WORK UNDERTAKEN The principal areas of practice are: arbitration and mediation; accountants and auditors negligence; administrations and liquidations; administrative and public law; Africa region disputes; agency; aviation finance; banking and finance; breach of warranty disputes, commercial litigation; consumer credit; civil jurisdiction and judgments/conflict of laws; civil fraud, asset tracing and investigations; commodities; company and insolvency; competition and EU law; contempt proceedings; conflicts of interest; damages; data protection; directors’ disqualification; dishonest assistance; economic torts; employment; energy and natural resources, including mining and infrastructure projects; FCA and PRA regulation; group litigation; guarantees; information technology; injunctions and interim remedies; insider trading; insurance and reinsurance; intellectual property; judicial review; letters of request; market abuse; mergers and acquisitions; mortgages; partnerships; pensions; private and public international law; professional liability; rail industry disputes; restitution; sports, gaming, lotteries and licensing; shareholder disputes; tax and revenue law; telecommunications and utilities regulation; unfair prejudice; unjust enrichment; unlawful means conspiracy.


Lord Grabiner QC (1968) (QC-1981)

Rt Hon. Sir Stanley Burnton (1965) (QC-1982)

Nicholas Strauss QC (1965) (QC-1984)

Hon. James Spigelman AC QC (1980) (QC-1986)

Peter Leaver QC (1967) (QC-1987)

Ian Glick QC (1970) (QC-1987)

Rt Hon. Lord Neuberger of Abbotsbury (1975) (QC-1987)

Hon. Sir Richard Field (1970) (QC-1987)

Rt Hon. Dame Elizabeth Gloster DBE, PC (1971) (QC-1989)

Geoffrey Hobbs QC (1977) (QC-1991)

Thomas Sharpe QC (1976) (QC-1994)

Jeffery Onions QC (1981) (QC-1998)

Rhodri Davies QC (1979) (QC-1999)

Stephen Auld QC (1979) (QC-1999)

Kenneth MacLean QC (1985) (QC-2002)

Laurence Rabinowitz QC (1987) (QC-2002)

Malcolm Gammie QC (1997) (QC-2002)

John McCaughran QC (1982) (QC-2003)

Charles Graham QC (1986) (QC-2003)

Christopher Style QC (2012) (QC-2006)

Richard Gillis QC (1982) (QC-2006)

Andrew Lenon QC (1982) (QC-2006)

Craig Orr QC (1986) (QC-2006)

Anthony de Garr Robinson QC (1987) (QC-2006)

Michael Sullivan QC (1983) (QC-2008)

Neil Kitchener QC (1991) (QC-2008)

Alain Choo Choy QC (1991) (QC-2009)

David Wolfson QC (1992) (QC-2009)

Daniel Toledano QC (1993) (QC-2009)

David Cavender QC (1993) (QC-2010)

Sonia Tolaney QC (1995) (QC-2011)

Richard Boulton QC (2003) (QC-2011)

Emma Himsworth QC (1993) (QC-2012)

Alexander Gunning QC (1994) (QC 2012)

Sa’ad Hossain QC (1995) (QC-2013)

Camilla Bingham QC (1996) (QC-2013)

Benjamin Strong QC (2001) (QC-2014)

Michael Fealy QC (1997) (QC-2014)

Edmund Nourse QC (1994) (QC-2015)

Hannah Brown QC (1992) (QC-2017)

Orlando Gledhill QC (1998) (QC-2017)

Simon Colton QC (1999) (QC- 2017)

Philip Roberts (1996) (QC-2018)

Steven Elliott (2001) (QC-2018)

Anna Boase (2002) (QC-2019)

Alan Redfern (1995)

Michael Malone (1975)

Ian Terry (CEDR accredited mediator)

Clare Reffin (1981)

Andrew Foyle (2006)

Matthew Cook (1999)

Guy Hollingworth (2001)

Derek Spitz (2001)

James Goldsmith (2002)

James Nadin (2002)

Daniel Hubbard (2003)

Michelle Menashy (2003)

Conall Patton (2004)

Laurence Emmett (2004)

Henry Forbes Smith (2004)

Polley (2005)

Sebastian Isaac (2005)

Marcos Dracos (2005)

James MacDonald (2005)

Eleanor Campbell (2005)

Michael Clark (2005)

Richard Mott (2006)

David Caplan (2006)

Rachel Oakeshott (2006)

Saul Lemer (2007)

Nicholas Sloboda (2007)

Sam O’Leary (2007)

Abra Bompas (2008)

Michael d’Arcy (2008)

Nehali Shah (2008)

Owain Draper (2008)

Sandy Phipps (2008)

Alexander Brown (2009)

Mehdi Baiou (2009)

Douglas Paine (2009)

Michael Watkins (2009)

James Petkovic (2009)

Emma Jones (2010)

Oliver Butler (2010)

Adam Rushworth (2010)

Gideon Cohen (2010)

Sophie Weber (2011)

Tamara Kagan (2011)

Andrew Lodder (2012)

Patricia Burns (2011)

Alaina Newnes (2012)

Maximillian Schlote (2013)

Simon Gilson (2013)

Henry Hoskins (2013)

Edwin Peel (2014)

Andrew Lomas (2014)

Stephanie Wood (2014)

Oscar Schonfeld (2014)

Joyce Arnold (2014)

James Ruddell (2015)

James Fox (2015)

Niranjan Venkatesan (2015)

Tim Goldfarb (2015)

Genevieve Burley (2016)

Joshua Crow (2016)

Ben Zelenka Martin (2016)

Alyssa Stansbury (2017)

KV Krishnaprasad (2017)

Daniel Fletcher (2017)

Veena Srirangam (2017)

Ben Lewy (2018)