Firm / Organisation

Matrix Chambers

Current View:

This content is provided by Matrix Chambers.

Chair of the Management Committee: James Laddie QC
Chief Executive: Rachel Holmes
Practice Director: Jason Housden
Senior Practice Managers: Paul Venables, Alison Scanes
Tenants: 91

THE CHAMBERS Matrix is a barristers’ chambers located in London, Geneva and Brussels. It is a collection of lawyers specialising in a wide range of practice areas throughout the UK and internationally. Described as ‘professional and forward thinking’, Matrix is an approachable set that is proud of its record of innovation. The core values govern the way it works and outline its commitment to operating within an environment where diversity, accessibility and client care are widely championed.

More details about the set’s practice areas can be found on the website.


Mark Afeeva (1997)

Nick Armstrong (2001) (Solicitor 1998)

Alex Bailin QC (1995) (QC-2010)

Sir Nicholas Blake (1974) (QC-1994) ++

Andrew Bodnar (1995)

Prof Laurence Boisson de Chazournes ++

Lord Daniel Brennan QC (1967) (QC-1985) ++

Christopher Brown (2002)

Joanna Buckley (2011)

Michelle Butler (2007) (Solicitor (New South Wales) 2002)

Chris Buttler (2004)

Prof Christine Chinkin (2003)

Prof Andrew Choo (2002)

Ayesha Christie (2014)

Prof Andrew Clapham (1985) ++

Kate Cook (1990)

Edward Craven (2007)

Claire Darwin (2005)

Anita Davies (2011)

Raj Desai (2010) (Solicitor 2007)

Prof Zachary Douglas QC (2006) (QC-2015)

Ben Emmerson QC (1986) (QC-2000)

Catrin Evans QC (1994) (QC-2016)

Danny Friedman QC (1996) (QC-2013) (Northern Ireland 2001)

Prof Conor Gearty (1995)

Nicholas Gibson (2009) (Solicitor 2004)

Jonathan Glasson QC (1996) (QC-2013)

Luis González García ++ (Qualified in Mexico, Qualified with the Bar Council as a Foreign Lawyer)

Sarah Hannett (2003)

Richard Hermer QC (1993) (QC-2009)

Sir Anthony Hooper ++

Anthony Hudson QC (1996) (QC-2015)

Murray Hunt ++

Raza Husain QC (1993) (QC-2010)

Darryl Hutcheon (2014)

Tamara Jaber (2013)

Jessica Jones (2013)

Phillippa Kaufmann QC (1991) (QC-2011)

Janet Kentridge (1999)

Thomas Kibling (1990)

Samantha Knights QC (1996) (QC-2018)

James Laddie QC (1995) (QC-2012)

Helen Law (2005)

Zoë Leventhal (2002)

Thomas Linden QC (1989) (QC-2006)

Rachel Logan (2008) ++

Alison Macdonald QC (2000) (QC-2017)

Lord Ken Macdonald QC (1978) (QC-1997) ++

Sara Mansoori (1997)

Prof Jonathan Marks (1992)

Zoe McCallum (2016)

Gavin Millar QC (1981) (QC-2000) (Northern Ireland-2010)

Eleanor Mitchell (2015)

Eleni Mitrophanous (1999)

Karon Monaghan QC (1989) (QC-2008)

Clare Montgomery QC (1980) (QC-1996) (Northern Ireland-2001)

Prof Gillian Morris (1997)

Helen Mountfield QC (1991) (QC-2010)

Prof Sean Murphy ++

Paul Nicholls QC (1992) (QC-2012)

Blinne Ní Ghrálaigh (2005) (Northern Ireland-2013) (Ireland-2017)

Aidan O’Neill QC (1996) (Scotland 1987)(QC-1999 Scotland) (QC-2017 England and Wales)

Tim Owen QC (1983) (QC-2000)

Raj Parker (1983) (Solicitor 1988) (Solicitor Advocate 1994) ++

Laura Prince (2003)

Mathew Purchase (2002)

Nicholas Randall QC (1990) (QC-2013) ++

Matthew Ryder QC (1992) (QC-2010) ++

Adam Sandell (2008)

Prof Philippe Sands QC (1985) (QC-2003)

Maurice Sheridan (1984)

Ben Silverstone (2009)

Jessica Simor QC (1992) (QC-2013)

Kirsten Sjøvoll (2012)

Paul Skinner (2010)

Lorna Skinner (1997)

Andrew Smith (2008)

Hugh Southey QC (1996) (QC-2010) (Northern Ireland-2010)

Daniel Squires QC (1998) (QC-2016)

Mark Summers QC (1996) (QC-2014)

Prof Christian Tams ++

Booan Temple (2001) ++

Rhodri Thompson QC (1989) (QC-2002)

Hugh Tomlinson QC (1983) (QC-2002)

Prof Takis Tridimas (2000)

Guy-Vassall Adams QC (2000) (QC-2016)

Aaron Watkins (2006)

Angeline Welsh (2015) (Belize-2015) (Solicitor-2003) (Solicitor Advocate-2008) (Belize 2015) (Solicitor 2003)

Antony White QC (1983) (Northern Ireland 2016) (QC-2001)

Aidan Wills (2015)

David Wolfe QC (1992) (QC-2012)