Firm / Organisation

Ampersand Advocates

Current View:

This content is provided by Ampersand Advocates.

Set Director: Douglas Ross QC
Clerk: Alan Moffat (0131) 260 5710
Deputies: Jennifer Dunn (0131) 260 5614, Sheena Hume (0131) 260 5809, Claire Marwick (0131) 260 5660, Shawn McArthur (0131) 260 5616
Tenants: 56

The Chambers Ampersand is considered to be one of the leading sets in Scotland, providing the full range of services offered by the Scottish Bar, both in contentious and non-contentious work, including advocacy, advice and related written work. Amongst its members are some of the Scottish Bar’s most highly rated and successful counsel and QCs. Established in 1981 the set presently has 56 members, including 26 QCs.

Work Undertaken Ampersand has core strengths in the fields of clinical and professional negligence, commercial law, public law and human rights, planning and environmental law and personal injury work.

Clinical & Professional Negligence: Ampersand is widely recognised as the leading set in clinical and professional liability at the Scottish Bar. Members are regularly instructed to represent private individuals, NHS Trusts, medical defence unions and private hospitals. Members have been responsible for some of the most important and complex cases in this field including claims involving brain and spinal injuries and other catastrophic medical injuries, multi-party claims arising from the use of medical products and equipment, human rights, mental health issues and medical ethics. Members have acted in cases and at tribunal and disciplinary hearings concerning potential negligence or misconduct involving accountants, architects, conveyancers, pension trustees, solicitors and surveyors.

Commercial Law: There is particular expertise in relation to corporate law, construction and engineering litigation, contractual disputes, commercial property issues, intellectual property and insolvency.

Public Law & Human Rights: The work of the stable is extensive, with members acting both for and against central government agencies, the Scottish Government, local authorities and regulatory bodies. Members of the stable have been instructed in many of the leading cases arising out of devolution and the incorporation into law of the European Convention on Human Rights. The stable also has acknowledged expertise in the substantive law of the European Union.

Planning & Environmental Law: The set’s membership includes several of Scotland’s leading planning counsel acting in public inquires and advising in relation to environmental issues, such as renewable energy developments and flood prevention schemes, as well as transport and retail developments.

Personal Injury: Ampersand has a considerable depth of experience, acting both for claimants and those defending claims, in the context of personal injury work. Members of the stable are regularly instructed in health and safety prosecutions and Fatal Accident Inquiries.

International The work of Ampersand includes advice and advocacy in relation to cross-border and international issues and disputes. Amongst Ampersand’s membership are dual-qualified counsel in English law, as well as European Union law.


Hugh Campbell QC (1969) (QC-1983)

Christopher Haddow QC (1971) (QC-1985)

Malcolm Thomson QC (1974) (QC-1987)

Aidan O’Neill QC (1987) (QC-1999)

Robert Howie QC (1986) (QC-2000)

David Sellar QC (1995) (QC-2000)

Maria Maguire QC (1987) (QC-2002)

Simon Di Rollo QC (1987) (QC-2002)

Alan Dewar QC (1989) (QC-2002)

Ronnie Clancy QC (1990) (QC-2002)

David Stephenson QC (1991) (QC-2009)

Alastair Kinroy QC (1987) (QC-2005)

Ailsa Wilson QC (1993) (QC-2007)

Dorothy Bain QC (1994) (QC-2007)

Graham Primrose QC (1993) (QC-2008)

Geoffrey Mitchell QC (1992) (QC-2009)

Simon Bowie QC (1995) (QC-2009)

Craig Sandison QC (1996) (QC-2009)

Eugene Creally QC (1993) (QC-2011)

Lisa Henderson QC (1995) (QC-2016)

Lauren Sutherland QC (1996) (QC-2016)

Douglas Ross QC (1998) (QC-2016)

Euan Mackenzie QC (1999) (QC-2016)

Susanne Tanner QC (2000) (QC-2016)

Marcus McKay QC (2000) (QC-2016)

Michael Stuart QC (2003) (QC-2017)

Mark Fitzpatrick (1985)

Archie MacSporran (1992)

Brian Fitzpatrick (1993)

Louise Milligan (1993)

Eoghainn Maclean (1995)

Stephen Bell (1996)

Phil Stuart (1996)

Christian Marney (1998)

Una Doherty (1999)

Vinit Khurana (1999)

Laurence Kennedy (2000)

Fiona Drysdale (2002)

Graeme I Hawkes (2003)

Isla Davie (2004)

Jamie Dawson (2004)

James McConnell (2006)

Graham Maciver (2007)

Roderick Campbell (2008)

Laura-Anne van der Westhuizen (2009)

Paul Reid (2011)

Usman Tariq (2011)

Russell Bradley (2012)

Jennifer Nicholson (2013)

Ross Anderson (2013)

Timothy Young (2013)

Dana Forbes (2015)

Giles Reid (2015)

Jamie Gardiner (2016)

Alan Cowan (2017)

Alexander Sutherland (2018)