Kings Chambers

Manchester Office

Current View:

This content is provided by Kings Chambers.

Chambers Director: Debra Andrés
Director of Clerking: William Brown
Chief Clerks: Stephen Loxto,n Gary Young, Gary Smith
Senior Birmingham Clerk: Jake Brooke
Senior Leeds Clerk: Louise Barnes

THE CHAMBERS Kings Chambers is ranked one of the country’s leading sets. It provides barristers with the highest reputation for advocacy, knowledge and standard of service. This is a large specialist set with a national reputation practising from Manchester, Leeds & Birmingham in several practice areas: predominantly business & property law; planning & environmental law, personal injury & clinical negligence, costs, employment, EU & Competition, sports law, mediation, arbitration (international & domestic) and public law.


Arbitration: Chambers offers both an advocacy service and members who accept appointments as Chair, members of three-person tribunals and sole arbitrators. This includes a fixed price arbitration service tailored to disputes requiring quick resolution to be dealt with on paper or by way of a hearing. Membership includes distinguished former senior members of the judiciary.

Business & Property: The group has extensive experience in litigation, arbitration and other tribunals. The areas covered include Banking & Finance, Chancery (wills and probate), Commercial Dispute Resolution (including injunctive proceedings, agency, sale of goods, restraint of trade and restrictive covenants), Company (breach of directors’ duties, shareholder disputes, unfair prejudice and, fraud), Construction, Partnership, Professional Negligence (all professions including miss-selling) and Real Estate Litigation (Residential and Commercial) and Restructuring and Insolvency (personal bankruptcy, winding up, administration, administrative receivership and tracing assets).

Clinical Negligence & Personal Injury: The Clinical Negligence & Personal Injury team undertake work involving serious personal injury claims, all aspects of Clinical negligence and occupational disease with a particular focus on asbestos and other forms of toxic exposure. The team also specialises in chronic pain and related conditions.

There is a specialist and dedicated costs team, practising exclusively in Costs law, disputes and litigation funding.

Employment: The employment team covers the entire spectrum of employment law and has particular strengths in race, sex, equal pay, restrictive covenants and disability discrimination both in tribunals and in the High Court.

EU & Competition: Chambers has a dedicated team dealing with EU and competition law, including cartels, dominance, mergers, market investigations, litigation, public procurement, state aid, trading agreements and compliance.

International & Offshore: Chambers members are highly experienced in commercial litigation and international arbitration, covering commercial fraud, asset-tracing and recovery, freezing injunctions, search and seizure, conflicts of law, jurisdictional disputes and enforcement of foreign judgments, financial services, company and shareholder disputes and JV agreements. Chambers members are instructed in cases arising in (amongst others) Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Hong Kong, Ireland, Isle of Man, Israel, Jersey, Singapore the UAE and the United States of America. Chambers are able to accept instructions both through law firms in this jurisdiction and directly from international firms and clients for our members to act as advocates or dispute resolvers.

Mediation:Mediation is an important part of the litigation process. The team comprises accredited mediators at various levels and with expertise in differing areas of law.

Planning: Kings Chambers is one of the leading planning, development and environmental chambers in the UK with 4 QC’s and 20 juniors. Chambers acts for a wide range of clients including developers, housebuilders, land promoters, local planning authorities and local resident groups across a variety of areas including residential, highways, energy, retail, CPO, infrastructure and environmental law.

Public Law: The public law group practises extensively in the Administrative Court, sitting in London and the regions. The group encompasses the range of public law work in community care, education, housing, mental health, licensing, local government and social security matters. Members advise and appear before courts at all levels.

Sports Law: The sports law team have been involved in some of the most substantial and high profile sports cases nationally in recent years involving, commercial dispute resolution, disciplinary and regulatory proceedings, anti-doping rules, employment issues, sports-related personal injury, breach of confidentiality and privacy, wealth management issues, intellectual property including image rights, trademark infringement and breach of copyright.


Nigel Poole QC (1989) (QC-2012)

Dr N Braslavsky QC (1983) (QC-1999)

Gerard McDermott QC (1978) (QC -1999)

Vincent Fraser QC (1981) (QC-2001)

Paul Chaisty QC (1982) (QC-2001)

Richard Clayton QC (1977) (QC-2002)

Satinder Hunjan QC (1984) (QC-2002)

David Manley QC (1981) (QC-2003)

Lesley Anderson QC (1989) (QC-2006)

David Casement QC (1992) (QC-2008)

Michael Rawlinson QC (1991 (QC-2009)

Paul Tucker QC (1990) (QC-2010)

Mark Harper QC (1993) (QC-2016)

Sam Karim QC (2002) (QC-2017)

Andrew Singer (1990) (QC-2018)

Sarah Pritchard QC (1993) (QC -2019)

Giles Cannock QC QC (1998) (QC -2019)

Eric Owen (1969)

Jeffrey Terry (1976)

Alan Evans (1978)

Shokat Khan (1979)

John Barrett (1982)

Neil Berragan (1982)

Michael Stephens (1983)

Gary Grant (1985)

Simon Hilton (1987)

Nigel Clayton (1987)

Ruth Stockley (1988)

Fiona Ashworth (1988)

Simon Burrows (1990)

Matthew Smith (1991)

Andrew Grantham (1991)

Adam Aldred (2014)

Martin Carter (1992)

Wilson Horne (1992)

Richard Lander (1993)

Ian Ponter (1993)

Sarah Clover (1993)

James Boyd (1994)

Kelly Pennifer (1994)

Andrew Latimer (1995)

Anna Diamond (1995)

Gavin McBride (1996)

Jeremy Roussak (1996)

Louis Doyle (1996)

Jonathan Easton (1996)

Simon Young (1998)

Simon Plaut (1997)

Colin Bourne (1997)

Stephen Maguire (2007)

Andrew McGee (1998)

Leo Charalambides (1998)

Matthew Hall (1999)

Helen Mulholland (1999)

Martin Budworth (1999)

Tina Ranales-Cotos (1999)

Eleanor Temple (2000)

Lisa Walmisley(2000)

Brian Griffiths (1999)

Paul Lakin (2000)

Paul Hughes (2001)

Ben Williams (2001)

Geraint Wheatley (2001)

Rupert Beloff (2001)

Claire Steward (2002)

Craig Ralph (2002)

Michael Rudd (2002)

John Hunter (2002)

Emily Duckworth (2003)

Sarah Lawrenson (2003)

Sarah Reid (2004)

Francesca Gardner (2004)

Sophie Allan (2004)

Helen Trotter (2004)

Anisa Niaz-Dickinson (2004)

Charlotte Law (2005)

Ben Harding (2005)

Cheryl Dainty (2006)

Richard Livingston (2006)

Steven Flynn (2006)

Johnny Ward (2007)

Toby Coupe (2007)

Dr Nathan Smith (2007)

Helen Gardiner (2007)

Kevin Latham (2007)

Stephen McNamara (2008)

Anthony Gill (2008)

Eleanor d’Arcy (2008)

Laura Gould (2009)

Richard Borrett (2009)

Louise Green (2009)

Eliza Sharron (2009)

Francesca P Gardner (2009)

Ruth Taylor (2010)

Jonathan Wright (2010)

Aidan Reay (2011)

Freddie Humphreys (2011)

Jasmine Skander (2011)

Fay Collinson (2011)

Philip Robson (2011)

Erica Bedford (2012)

Douglas Cochran (2012)

Sam Harmel (2013)

Arianna Kelly (2013)

Constanze Bell (2013)

Nicholas Truelove (2013)

Killian Garvey (2014)

Chelsea Carter (2014)

Warren Bank (2014)

Simon Arnold (2017)

Piers Riley Smith (2016)

Aisling Campbell (2017)

Rosie Knight (2018)

Marcus F Daly SC (1987) (SC-1999)*

Colm o’hOisin SC (1988) (SC-2005)*

Sir Maurice Kay (1975) (1988)+

Judge David Gilliland (1964) (1984)+


+ Arbitrator