Byrom Street Chambers

Manchester Office

Current View:

This content is provided by Byrom Street Chambers.

Head of Chambers: Winston Hunter QC
Senior Clerk: Steve Price
Deputy Senior Clerk: Matt Tudor


Byrom Street Chambers is a unique and specialist set practising within the heart of Manchester’s recently developed business and legal centre at Spinningfields. Chambers is situated in close proximity to the Civil Justice Centre and the Crown Court. Members also practise from Crown Office Chambers in London. According to Chambers and Partners, “Senior clerk Steve Price provides absolutely fantastic service year after year.” “The clerks are always happy to help and will go out of their way to assist and accommodate your needs.” “The clerking team are excellent. As well as being friendly and approachable they are well organised, well connected, discreet and effective. They’re everything an instructing solicitor could want from any set of chambers.”.

Byrom Street Chambers is a forward-thinking set with traditional values, exclusively dedicated to the work of leading and senior junior counsel, who have extensive expertise in high-value and complex cases. Chambers provides a highly individual and personalised service, focusing on clients’ needs, combined with a friendly and open approach to clerking.

Chambers’ premises are modern, purpose-built, DDA-compliant and architecturally designed with particular attention to the needs of both professional and lay clients. Facilities include large comfortable conference rooms, a video-conferencing suite, the latest information technology with wireless connection and an extensive library. Three members of chambers currently sit as Deputy Judges of the High Court, seven members sit as Recorders, one member sits on the Mental Health Review Tribunal, one member sits on the Criminal Injuries Compensation Tribunal and two members sit as Deputy Coroners.

Chambers has a reputation for quality and service. Members offer advice and advocacy in a range of specialisations and can provide the depth of cover necessary to conduct litigation in the most complex of cases. They practise regularly in the fields of personal injury (with an emphasis on catastrophic cases, group and class actions, clinical negligence and disease litigation), health and safety, professional negligence, financial services, commercial, human rights and civil fraud.

Supreme Court:
Armes v Nottingham County Council; International Energy Group Ltd v Zurich Insurance Plc UK Branch; Dunhill v Burgin; Woodland v Essex CC; Sienkiewicz and Willmore.
House of Lords: Fairchild v Glenhaven; Tomlinson v Congleton.
Court of Appeal: McDonald v Dept for Communities; Huscroft v P&O Ferries; Thompstone v Tameside; Sowden v Lodge; Heneghan v Manchester Dry Dock Ltd.
European Court of Human Rights: RK & AK v Oldham NHS Trust.
QBD: Kenyan Group Litigation; Kimathi v Foreign & Commonwealth Office; Shipman Inquiry.

Former members of chambers include Sir Brian Leveson, Dame Janet Smith, Sir David Clarke, Dame Caroline Swift, Sir Timothy King, Sir Stephen Stewart and HHJ Richard Pearce.


Winston Hunter QC (1985) (QC-2000)

Raymond Machell QC (1973) (QC-1988)

Christopher Melton (1982) (QC-2001)

Simon Myerson QC (1986) (QC-2003)

James Rowley QC (1987) (QC-2006)

David Heaton QC (1983) (QC-2008)

Andrew Lewis QC (1985) (QC-2009)

Sally Hatfield QC (1988) (QC-2013)

Darryl Allen QC (1995) (QC-2014)

Rhiannon Jones QC (1993) (QC-2015)

Simon Kilvington (1995) (QC-2016)

Peter Burns QC (1993) (QC-2019)

Mary Ruck (1993)

Darrel Crilley (1996)

Jason Wells (2007)