Firm / Organisation

Byrom Street Chambers

Current View:

This content is provided by Byrom Street Chambers.

Head of Chambers: Winston Hunter QC
Senior Clerk: Steve Price
Deputy Senior Clerk: Matt Tudor

Byrom Street Chambers is a forward-thinking set with traditional values, exclusively dedicated to the work of leading and senior junior counsel who have extensive expertise in high-value and complex cases. Chambers provides a highly individual and personalised service, focussing on clients’ needs, combined with a friendly and open approach to clerking.

WORK UNDERTAKEN Members offer advice and advocacy in a range of specialisations and provide the depth of cover necessary to conduct litigation in the most complex of cases. Members practise in the fields of personal injury (with an emphasis on catastrophic cases, group and class actions), clinical negligence and disease litigation, health and safety, professional negligence, financial services, commercial, employment, human rights and civil fraud. Sample cases include: Kenyan Group Litigation (ongoing) Kimathi v Foreign & Commonwealth Office; Armes v Nottingham County Council (SC 2017); I.E.G.L v Zurich (SC 2015); A.E v Morecambe Hospitals (QB 2015); Dunhill v Burgin (SC 2014); McDonald v D.O.C. (SC 2014); Woodland v Essex CC (SC 2013); Sienkiewicz and Willmore (SC 2011); R (on app of AB) v Oldham NHS and Direct Line (Admin); Huscroft v P&O Ferries (CA); Thompstone v Tameside (CA); Fairchild v Glenhaven (HoL); Sowden v Lodge (CA); Tomlinson v Congleton (HoL); RK&AK v Oldham NHS Trust (ECHR); Shipman Inquiry.


Winston Hunter QC (1985) (QC-2000)

Raymond Machell QC (1973) (QC-1988)

Geoffrey Tattersall QC (1970) (QC-1992)

Christopher Melton (1982) (QC-2001)

Simon Myerson QC (1986) (QC-2003)

James Rowley QC (1987) (QC-2006)

David Heaton QC (1983) (QC-2008)

Andrew Lewis QC (1985) (QC-2009)

Sally Hatfield QC (1988) (QC-2013)

Darryl Allen QC (1995) (QC-2014)

Rhiannon Jones QC (1993) (QC-2015)

Simon Kilvington (1995) (QC-2016)

Mary Ruck (1993)

Peter Burns (1993)

Darrel Crilley (1996)

Jason Wells (2007)