Set Profile

Twenty Essex

Asia-Pacific Guide 2024

Ranked departments
Ranked barristers

Contact number

(020) 7842 1200

Share profile


Provided by Twenty Essex

Heads of Chambers: Philip Edey KC, Charles Kimmins KC

CEO: Jemma Tagg

Practice Directors:

Arron Zitver DD: 020 7842 1205 Mobile: 07908 256 043

Christopher Theobald DD: 020 7842 1210 Mobile: 07983 403 900

Anthony Carroll DD: 020 7842 1230 Mobile: 07928 655 787

Tenants: 112

The Chambers

A leading commercial set of chambers, the barristers of Twenty Essex offer outstanding legal minds combined with a modern and commercial disputes experience. Its clients include major global companies, institutions, governments and their advisors from around the world and its barristers advise and appear as advocates in court or arbitration in relation to a broad range of company and commercial, EU, competition, and public international law disputes. Practices involve the preparation and conduct of litigation before a wide range of courts and tribunals, in the UK, in foreign jurisdictions as well as on the international stage.

The vast majority of the work is international in nature and the set has well-established links to many overseas markets, including through its Asian hub in Singapore servicing clients throughout Asia Pacific and beyond. The set is also home to a number of highly respected domestic and international arbitrators and mediators, some of whom were previously judges either in the UK or overseas.

Main areas of practice

Commercial dispute resolution

Members advise and act in relation to the full spectrum of commercial disputes and have particular expertise in disputes with an international dimension. Virtually all members deal with aspects of EU law and are amongst the leaders in their field for EU competition law, EU jurisdiction and Brexit advice. Areas of commercial expertise include: ADR, aviation, banking and finance, chancery, company and partnership, civil fraud, construction, energy and natural resources, IT, insolvency and restructuring, insurance/re- insurance, IP, media disputes, professional negligence and sports law.

Insolvency, company law & offshore

Members are well known for their expertise in contentious and non- contentious restructurings, insolvency law and company law, spanning all business and industry sectors. They regularly advise and represent insolvency office-holders, companies, creditors, shareholders and company directors and have been heavily involved in many of the recent major restructurings and insolvencies. Members are valued for their offshore expertise and handle a high volume of instructions in this area.

Public International law

Twenty Essex is pre-eminent in public international law. The specialist members regularly provide legal and strategic advice to States and other parties and appear before English courts at all levels in cases in which issues of public international law arise, as well as before international courts and tribunals. Members also have a wealth of experience in investor state disputes.

International arbitration

Twenty Essex has a strong reputation as a leading arbitration set. It has a team of 15 leading full time international arbitrators in addition to barrister members who act as advocates and arbitrators in international commercial disputes under the auspices of all of the major institutions as well as ad hoc and specialist commodity tribunals. Members also accept appointments as inquiry chairs, mediators and experts.

Shipping & international trade

The set has an outstanding reputation for all aspects of shipping and international trade disputes, involving admiralty, construction, energy, finance, insurance, insolvency and restructuring, international trade, commodities and international maritime law.


Philip Edey KC (1994) (KC-2009)

Charles Kimmins KC (1994) (KC-2010)

Alexander Layton KC (1976) (KC-1995)

Timothy Young KC (1977) (KC1996)

Christopher Hancock KC (1983) (KC-2000)

Duncan Matthews KC (1986) (KC-2002)

Sir Daniel Bethlehem KC (1988) (KC-2003)

Stephen Atherton KC (1989) (KC-2006)

Timothy Hill KC (1990) (KC-2009)

Paul Lowenstein KC (1988) (KC-2009)

Michael Coburn KC (1990) (KC-2010)

Gordon Nardell KC (1995) (KC-2010)

Michael Ashcroft KC (1997) (KC-2011)

Lawrence Akka KC (1991) (KC-2012)

Sara Masters KC (1993) (KC-2012)

Michael Collett KC (1995) (KC-2013)

David Lewis KC (1999) (KC-2014)

Thomas Raphael KC (1999) (KC-2015)

Wendy Miles KC (2020) (KC-2015)

Andrew Ayres KC (1996) (KC-2015)

Sudhanshu Swaroop KC (1997) (KC-2016)

Julian Kenny KC (1997) (KC-2016)

Guglielmo Verdirame KC (2006) (KC-2019)

Nakul Dewan SA (2014) (SA-2019)

Henry Byam-Cook KC (2000) (KC-2020)

Blair Leahy KC (2001) (KC-2020)

Philip Riches KC (2001) (KC-2020)

Andrew Fulton KC (1999) (KC-2021)

Jonathon Redwood SC (2013) (SC-2020)

Tony Beswetherick KC (2003) (KC-2022)

Simon C Milnes KC (2005) (KC-2022)

Albert Dinelli KC (2014) (KC-2022)

Sir Michael Wood KC (1968) (KC-2023)

Luke Pearce KC (2007) (KC-2023)

Karen Maxwell (1992)

Julie Anderson (1993)

Malcolm Jarvis (1998)

Susannah Jones (1999)

Zannis Mavrogordato (1999)

Sean Snook (2000)

Socrates Papadopoulos (2001)

Baiju Vasani (2001)

Angharad Parry (2002)

Simon Olleson (2002)

Colleen Hanley (2003)

Daniel Bovensiepen (2004)

Josephine Davies (2006)

Harris Bor (2006)

Patricia Edwards (2006)

Sarah Tresman (2008)

Stefan Talmon (2007)

Penelope Nevill (2010)

Rupert Hamilton (2010)

Thomas Corby (2011)

Mahnaz Malik (2012)

Oliver Caplin (2012)

Alex Carless (2012)

Richard Greenberg (2013)

Matthew McGhee (2013)

Andrew Feld (2013)

Andrew Dinsmore (2013)

Joshua Folkard (2013)

Monica Feria-Tinta (2014)

Belinda McRae (2014)

Alexander Thompson (2014)

Kate Parlett (2015)

Sam Goodman (2015)

Alistair Wooder (2015)

Jonathon Ketcheson (2016)

Philippa Webb (2016)

Mark Tushingham (2016)

Patrick Dunn-Walsh (2012)

Michael Hain (2017)

Fiona Whiteside (2017)

Kevin Lee (2017)

Matthew Chan (2018)

Edward Gilmore (2018)

Maria Kennedy (2018)

Fiona Petersen (2018)

Manuel Casas (2020)

Courtney Grafton (2020)

Talia Zybutz (2020)

Paolo Busco (2021)

Daniel Kalderimis (2021)

Brendan Plant (2019)

Alexandros Demetriades (2021)

Matthew McGonagle (2021)

Dr Rishab Gupta (2021)

Thomas Wong (2021)

James Lamming (2022)

Isabelle Winstanley (2022)

Alexander Yean (2022)

Charles Connor (2022)

The Honorable Charles Brower +

Michael Lee +

David St John Sutton + J

William Rowley KC +

The Honourable Yves Fortier KC +

Sir Bernard Rix +

David Owen KC +

Michael Tselentis KC +

Professor Julian DM Lew KC +

Dr Michael Moser +

Sir Martin Moore-Bick +

Sir Mark Havelock-Allan +

Clare Ambrose +

Sir Peter Gross +

Lord Glennie +

Nigel Rawding KC +

Professor Hi-Taek Shin +

Sarah Grimmer +

Philippa Charles +

+ Arbitrator

Ranked Offices

Provided by Twenty Essex

UK - Head office

Twenty Essex rankings

Asia-Pacific Guide 2024
Filter by
Asia-Pacific Region
International Arbitration - The Bar
1 Ranked Barrister
Silks (KC)
Duncan Matthews KC
Duncan Matthews KC
International Arbitration: Most In Demand Arbitrators
1 Ranked Barrister
Michael Moser
Star Individuals
Dispute Resolution: Arbitration
1 Ranked Barrister
Rishab Gupta
Rishab Gupta
Band 4
Dispute Resolution: Arbitration: The English Bar
3 Ranked Barristers
Silks (KC)
David Lewis KC
David Lewis KC
Band 1
Simon Milnes KC
Simon Milnes KC
Band 3
Rishab Gupta
Rishab Gupta
Band 1
Dispute Resolution: Most in Demand Arbitrators
1 Ranked Barrister
Michael Lee
Michael Lee
Band 2