Firm / Organisation

Three Stone

Current View:
Also ranked in:

This content is provided by Three Stone.

Head of Chambers: John McDonnell QC
Senior Clerk: Justin Brown
Tenants: 45

THE CHAMBERS Three Stone is a merger between 3 Stone Buildings with 13 Old Square Chambers, both highly regarded sets in Lincoln’s Inn. The set is led by John McDonnell QC and has six other silks and 41 juniors. David Moyhuddin took silk in 2016. The work of chambers has always focused on commercial chancery with specialisms in particular in commercial actions, insurance and reinsurance, insolvency and restructuring commercial trusts, trusts of land and property work with traditional chancery work together with taxation. Three members have developed high quality public international law practices. Chambers has an established IP practice and this has developed in tandem with expertise in sports, media and entertainment and has been augmented by the recruitment of competition specialists.

WORK UNDERTAKEN Commercial and traditional chancery, insurance and reinsurance, insolvency and restructuring, commercial trusts, trusts of land, property, wills and probate, taxation, entertainment, media and sport, intellectual property, public international law.

PUBLICATIONS Jonathan Turner Intellectual Property and EU Competition Law (2nd Edition). 

INTERNATIONAL WORK Chambers has developed a substantial offshore reputation and practice. There are particular specialisms in commercial work, commercial trusts and trusts of land, insolvency and restructuring and offshore work. There is a large offshore element to the work of chambers with members who are dual qualified in England and New York. Members appear regularly and have appeared in the Courts of Hong Kong, the Caribbean jurisdictions, Isle of Man, Eire and Northern Ireland. The Chambers’ presence offshore is growing with connections with Guernsey and Jersey and the recruitment of two practitioners (one silk and one junior) qualified and formerly practising in the Cayman Islands.

RECRUITMENT The Chambers will continue to recruit experienced practitioners at all levels and junior tenants.


John McDonnell QC (1968) (QC-1984)

David Lowe QC (1965) (QC-1984)

Robin Mathew QC (1974) (QC-1992)

Mark Cawson QC (1982) (QC-2001)

David W Lord QC (1987) (QC-2009)

David Mohyuddin QC (1999) (QC-2016)

Surya Subedi O.B.E (2007) (QC Hon-2017)

Stephen Lloyd (1971)

Andrew J Cosedge (1972)

James Gibbons (1974)

Michael Jefferis (1976)

Alan M Tunkel (1976)

Richard Nowinski (1977)

Ingrid Detter (1977)

Robert Bourne (1978)

Jonathan DC Turner (1982)

Neil Cadwallader (1984)

Francis Collaco Moraes (1985)

Laurence Vaughan-Williams (1988)

Mark Watson-Gandy (1990)

Christopher Cook (1990)

Timothy Clarke (1992)

Giles Maynard-Connor (1992)

Richard Peat (1993)

Ian Watson (2005)

Tim Ludbrook (1996)

Sandradee Joseph (1998)

Paul Burton (1998)

David Went (1999)

Richard Devereux-Cooke (1999)

Jonathan O’Mahony (2000)

Adam Chichester-Clark (2000)

James Couser (2000)

Simon Olleson (2002)

Sebastian Kokelaar (2004)

Katherine Hallett (2006)

Emma Knight (2008)

Daniel Burkitt (2008)

Michael Smith (2008)

Simon Hunter (2009)

Daisy Boulter (2010)

Stuart Cutting (2011)

Rupert Coe (2015)

Richard Bowles (2014)

Stephen Ryan (2016)