Firm / Organisation

Terra Firma Chambers

Current View:

This content is provided by Terra Firma Chambers.

Practice Manager: Emma Potter
Deputy Clerk: Andrew Veitch
Deputy Clerk: Tracy Whitelaw
Tenants: 42

THE CHAMBERS Terra Firma Chambers was established in January 2008 with the purpose of providing specialised services in the areas of property, planning, commercial and administrative public law. It was quickly recognised as a leading set with members ranked in each of its core practice areas in either Scotland or England. It has also established an enviable reputation for the service provided by its members and clerks. The Chambers contains 45 counsel, including 16 Queen’s Counsel. It has the largest number of dual qualified members of the Scottish and English Bars of any Scottish set, with several members in leading chambers at the English Bar. It also has more specialist arbitration advocates (and more arbitration academics) than any other set at the Scottish Bar, and several members hold appointments as part-time sheriffs or part-time tribunal judges. Members of chambers accept instructions under the Faculty of Advocates Direct Access Rules.

WORK UNDERTAKEN The members of Terra Firma Chambers carry out the whole gamut of work related to property, planning, commercial and administrative law.

Property: Access rights, agriculture and crofting, boundary disputes, charities, commercial property, common good, conveyancing, executries and succession, housing, intellectual property, landlord and tenant, pensions, professional negligence, regulatory enforcement and liability, servitudes and wayleaves, taxation and estate planning, trusts and judicial factors, unjustified enrichment, valuation and rating, wills.

Planning: Conservation, compulsory purchase and compensation, contaminated land, drainage and flood prevention, environmental (civil and criminal) regulation, housing, industrial, infrastructure development, leisure, minerals, nuisance, planning, pollution prevention and control, renewable energy, retail, roads, sewage, telecommunications, waste.

Commercial: Bankruptcy and diligence, building and construction, contracts, commercial arbitration and dispute resolution, discrimination, employment, energy, health and safety, insolvency, intellectual property, partnership, professional negligence, public procurement, regulatory liability, restrictive covenants, roads and transport, taxation, valuation and rating. Members act as advocates, mediators and arbitrators within Scotland, England and internationally.

Administrative & Public Law: Charities, community care, constitutional law, election law, freedom of information, human rights, judicial review, licensing, local government, professional and disciplinary proceedings, public procurement, regulatory enforcement and liability, statutory appeals and review, valuation and rating, welfare law. Members regularly appear before courts, tribunals, inquiries, hearings and local authority committees.


Roy Martin QC (1976) (QC — Scotland 1988) (QC — England & Wales 2008)

Stuart Gale QC (1980) (QC-1993)

Gordon Steele QC (1981) (QC-1996)

James Findlay QC (1984) (QC — England & Wales 1984) (QC — Scotland 2008)

Peter Ferguson QC (1987) (QC-2005)

Scott Brady QC (1987) (QC-2000)

Douglas Armstrong QC (1990) (QC-2005)

Michael Howlin QC (1996) (QC-2009)

Andrew Bowen QC (1997) (QC-2012)

Philip J D Simpson QC (2001) (QC-2014)

Roddy McIlvride QC (2005) (QC-2014)

Steven Walker QC (1999) (QC-2016)

Stephen O’Rourke QC (2002) (QC-2017)

Derek Francis (1985)

Robert Skinner (1987)

Peter Grant-Hutchison (1988)

Neil Beynon (1990)

Robert Sutherland (1992)

Nicholas Holroyd (1992)

David Bartos (1993)

Neil Kinnear (1994)

Maurice O’Carroll (1995)

Mark Lazarowicz (1996)

William Frain-Bell (1999)

Scott Blair (2000)

Luise Locke (2000)

David Logan (2000)

Fred Mackintosh (2000)

Alasdair J Burnet (2006)

Catriona Macleod (2007)

Gordon Watt (2007)

John McKendrick (2008) (QC — England & Wales 2016)

Julius Komorowski (2008)

Graham Dunlop (2009)

Stephen Winter (2011)

Mark Mohammed (2011)

Dennis Edwards (2012)

Denis Garrity (2014)

Brian Crook (2015)

Roddy MacLeod (2016)

Ewen Brown (2018)