Firm / Organisation

Serle Court

Current View:

This content is provided by Serle Court.

Head of Chambers: Alan Boyle QC
Chief Executive: John Petrie MBE
Head Clerk: Steven Whitaker
Senior Clerks: Nick Hockney, Daniel Wheeler 
Tenants: 69

THE CHAMBERS Acknowledged as “one of the very best commercial chancery sets, and one of the few that genuinely competes in both traditional chancery and commercial litigation”, Serle Court is applauded for being “a definite go-to chambers for contentious trust work”, whose “impressive silks and juniors are praised for their strength in depth”, handling “matters of the greatest worth and complexity”…“the most commercial of the chancery sets”, Serle Court “offers a variety of skill sets that others can’t provide, and houses some of the biggest names at the Bar”— Chambers and Partners. In addition to its reputation for being one of the top sets at the English Bar, Serle Court is also one of the largest commercial chancery sets, with 69 members, including 27 silks. Serle Court’s members offer genuine expertise across a broad range of chancery and commercial disciplines, from offshore litigation about the world’s largest companies to domestic advice on probate matters, servicing a similarly disparate lay and professional client base at home and abroad.

WORK UNDERTAKEN Recognised as a pre-eminent set in chancery and commercial litigation, Serle Court is recommended in ten practice areas by Chambers and Partners: chancery: commercial, chancery: traditional, commercial dispute resolution, company, fraud: civil, offshore, partnership, professional negligence, real estate litigation, restructuring/insolvency. Serle Court can provide barristers at all levels to provide clear, practical advice and imaginative solutions to all types of disputes. Serle Court is experienced at putting together streamlined and powerful teams for some of the largest cases in the world. Seen as the go-to choice for big-ticket cases, often cross-border and multi-faceted; these cases have included: Glenn v Watson, Renova Industries Ltd v Emmerson International Corporation, Investec Trust (Guernsey) Ltd v Glenalla Properties Ltd, Khan v Gany Holdings, Cowan v Foreman, Estera Trust v Singh, Shlosberg v Avonwick, Ilott v Mitson, Bestfort Developments LLP and Ors v Ras Al Khaimah Investment Authority, the Hyderabad Fund case, the RBS rights issue litigation, the Fiona litigation and the Lehman Brothers administration. Serle Court has also established itself as one of the leading ADR sets, with a large number of highly regarded mediators and arbitrators as well as many members with extensive experience of appearing in ‘alternative’ dispute resolution forums.

INTERNATIONAL A significant proportion of Serle Court’s work originates overseas: Serle Court has particularly close relationships with professional clients in the Channel Islands and the Caribbean, but members have advised and appeared in proceedings all over the world, from Russia to the USA, and from Europe to the Middle East.


Alan Boyle QC (1972) (QC-1991)

Patrick Talbot QC (1969) (QC-1990)

Kuldip Singh QC (1975) (QC-1993)

Frank Hinks QC (1973) (QC-2000)

Elizabeth Jones QC (1984) (QC-2000)

Paul Chaisty QC (1982) (QC-2001)

Dominic Dowley QC (1983) (QC-2002)

Conor Quigley QC (1985) (QC-2003)

Philip Marshall QC (1987) (QC-2003)

Philip Jones QC (1985) (QC-2006)

Lance Ashworth QC (1987) (QC-2006)

Khawar Qureshi QC (1990) (QC-2006)

David Casement QC (1992) (QC-2008)

Christopher Stoner QC (1991) (QC-2010)

Michael Edenborough QC (1992) (QC-2010)

John Machell QC (1993) (QC-2012)

Hugh Norbury QC (1995) (QC-2012)

David Blayney QC (1992) (QC-2013)

Jonathan Adkin QC (1997) (QC-2013)

Rupert Reed QC (1996) (QC-2014)

Zoe O’Sullivan QC (1993) (QC-2015)

Andrew Moran QC (1989) (QC-2016)

Daniel Lightman QC (1995) (QC-2016)

Richard Wilson QC (1996) (QC-2016)

Professor Jonathan Harris QC (2006) (QC-2016 (Hon))

Dakis Hagen QC (2002) (QC-2017)

Constance McDonnell QC (2000) (QC-2019)

Julian Burling (1976)

Andrew Francis (1977)

William Henderson (1978)

James Behrens (1979)

Richard Walford (1984)

Nicholas Harrison (1988)

Kathryn Purkis (1991)

Andrew Bruce (1992)

David Drake (1994)

Justin Higgo (1995)

Timothy Collingwood (1996)

Giles Richardson (1997)

Thomas Braithwaite (1998)

Simon Hattan (1999)

Constance McDonnell (2000)

James Brightwell (2000)

Jennifer Haywood (2001)

Ruth Jordan (2001)

Jonathan Fowles (2004)

Matthew Morrison (2004)

James Mather (2006)

Dan McCourt Fritz (2007)

Gareth Tilley (2007)

James Weale (2007)

Paul Adams (2008)

Thomas Elias (2008)

Sophie Holcombe (2009)

Adil Mohamedbhai (2010)

Jonathan McDonagh (2011)

Emma Hargreaves (2012)

Zahler Bryan (2012)

Amy Proferes (2012)

Suzanne Rab (2013)

Adrian de Froment (2013)

Oliver Jones (2014)

Sophia Hurst (2014)

Eleni Dinenis (2015)

Charlotte Beynon (2015)

Gregor Hogan (2016)

Stephanie Thompson (2017) (New Zealand Bar 2013)

Jamie Randall (2017)

Mark Wraith (2017)


Total 1 contributions

Insolvency 2019 Second Edition Law and Practice in UK

Lance Ashworth QC, Matthew Morrison, Sophia Hurst, Eleni Dinenis

Read now