Firm / Organisation

Magdalen Chambers

Current View:

This content is provided by Magdalen Chambers.

Head of Chambers: Nigel Moore and Rupert Chapman
Senior Clerk: James Basden
Clerks: Harry Turner, Grainne McGovern, Lisa Lyons, Lindsey Nash, Kadie Blackburn, Jan Wood, Nick Headley, Andrew Woodland
Tenants: 43

Led by joint Heads of Chambers Nigel Moore and Rupert Chapman, Magdalen Chambers has grown to be the largest set south-west of Bristol, with over 40 members offering expertise in a wide range of areas of civil and family work supported by a highly experienced clerking team. Chambers also has a roster of members able to provide private FDRs, mediation and arbitration. Based in Exeter, close to the Combined Court Centre and Tribunal Centre, Chambers boasts specially designed mediation and conference facilities.

Family & Matrimonial: Specialist teams cover the full range of family law. The family finance team deals with high asset and more modest financial cases, including Tolata and Schedule 1 Children Act cases. The children and care and adoption teams cover complex private law cases and the full gamut of public law children matters.
Civil & Commercial: The principal areas of specialisation of members of the civil and commercial team are: commercial litigation, employment law, personal injury, planning and regulatory law, property and chancery, and social housing and homelessness. The set’s barristers regularly appear in the First Tier Tribunal, County Court and High Court and have been involved in appeals to the Court of Appeal and Supreme Court.

Applications under Schedule 1 of the Children Act 1989 (2nd Edition): Rupert Chapman Co-author.

Chambers welcomes enquiries from established practitioners who would complement the strength and development of our core areas of practice. Enquiries should be made in the first instance to Chambers’ Senior Clerk and will be treated in the strictest confidence.


Nigel Moore (1978) P

Rupert Chapman (2000) P

Susan Campbell Q.C. (1986/2009)

Anne Bell O.B.E. (1975) P

Christopher Naish (1980)

Martin Fodder (1983)

Nicholas Berry (1988) P

Richard Powell (1989)

Jeremy Haughty (1989) P

Helen Matuk (1990)

Geoffrey Killen (1990)

Angus Gloag (1992) P

David Campbell (1992) P

Gavin Collett (1993)P

Carmel Bryan (1993)

Sam Waritay (1993) P

James Rees (1994) P

Steven Ball (1995) P

Daya Mann (1995)

Paul Bitmead (1996)

Juliet Williams (1998)

Carol Mashembo (1999) P

William Hopkin (2000)

William Hillier (2001) P

Russell James (2001) P

Simon Lane (2002) P

Andrew Worthley (2004)

Sarah Evans (2004) P

Elizabeth Willsteed (2004)

Christian Gape (2005) P

Charles Murray (2005)

David Lidbury (2006)

Dan Dyson (2007)

Jane Smith (2007)

Tom Urwin (2007) P

Jane Herbert (2008)

Charles Cooper (2012)

Natasha Bellinger (2012) P

Pakeeza Rahman (2012)

Dr Kate Harrington (2014) P

Jennifer Smith (2016)

Charles Shwenn (2017)

James Lewis-Bale (2018)