Firm / Organisation

Francis Taylor Building

Current View:

This content is provided by Francis Taylor Building.

Head of Chambers: Andrew Tait QC
Deputy Senior Clerk: James Kemp
Principal Clerks: Andrew Briton, Harry Killick

Francis Taylor Building (FTB) has a long-standing reputation for excellence in providing advocacy and advisory services. FTB is consistently featured as a leading set in the independent legal directories for its expertise and leading role in planning, land valuation, infrastructure, environmental, public law, regulatory law and licensing. Its position at the forefront of these areas of law is evidenced by members consistently appearing in many of the leading cases. Members of chambers appear in courts at all levels in this country and abroad, including specialist tribunals and public inquiries and undertake specialist advisory work. The set owes its long-standing reputation for excellence to its wide range of clients, the major projects it handles and the number and quality of its practitioners. They are also supported by a highly motivated and professional team of clerks, led by Paul Coveney as Senior Clerk.

As part of its specialist practice, FTB undertakes works connected with planning, environment, licensing, national infrastructure planning projects, transport and works schemes, utilities, highways, rating, heritage and conservation, Parliamentary Bills, common land and village greens, minerals, statutory nuisance and regulation, health and safety, environmental crime, compulsory purchase and compensation, land valuation, property law including easements and covenants, religious liberty and ecclesiastical, education and energy. FTB maintains a panel of qualified and specialist CEDR and ADR accredited mediators. FTB offers a wide range of client facilities including a dedicated seminar suite to support its established programme of events and an arbitration and mediation suite which complements Chambers’ mediation and ADR expertise. The premises are fully DDA compliant.


Andrew Tait QC (1981) (QC-2003)

George Bartlett QC (1966) (QC-1986) *

Guy Roots QC (1969) (QC-1989)

Richard Phillips QC (1970) (QC-1990) A

Robert McCracken QC (1973) (QC-2003) A

Michael Humphries QC (1982) (QC-2003) A

Gerald Gouriet QC (1974) (QC-2006) A

David Matthias QC (1980) (QC-2006) A

Morag Ellis QC (1984) (QC-2006)

Craig Howell Williams QC (1983) (QC-2009)

Richard Glover QC (1984) (QC-2009)

Mark Hill QC (1987) (QC-2009) A

Simon Bird QC (1987) (QC-2009) A

Douglas Edwards QC (1992) (QC-2010) A

Gregory Jones QC (1991) (QC-2011)

Suzanne Ornsby QC (1986) (QC-2012)

James Pereira QC (1996) (QC-2014) A

Saira Kabir Sheikh QC (2000) (QC-2014)

Andrew Fraser-Urquhart QC (1993) (QC-2015) A

Hereward Phillpot QC (1997) (QC-2015)

Alexander Booth QC (2000) (QC-2016) A

Jeremy Phillips QC (2004) (QC-2018) A

Philip Petchey (1976) A

Timothy Comyn (1980) A

James Rankin (1983) A

Meyric Lewis (1986) A

Gary Grant (1994) A

Charles Holland (1994) A *

Leo Charalambides (1998) A

Emyr Jones (1999)

Melissa Murphy (2001)

Juan Lopez (2002) A

Richard Honey (2003) A

John Jolliffe (2005) A

Mark Westmoreland Smith (2006) A

Professor Pavlos Eleftheriadis (2006) ++ A

Cain Ormondroyd (2007) A

Annabel Graham Paul (2008)

Hugh Flanagan (2008)

Sarah Sackman (2008) A

Rebecca Clutten (2008)

Ned Westaway (2009) A

Isabella Tafur (2009)

David Graham (2010) A Michael Fry (2011) A

George Mackenzie (2011) A

Professor Gordon Anthony ++ (2011 – Northern Ireland)

Alexander Greaves (2012)

Caroline Daly (2013) A

Charles Streeten (2013) A

Charles Forrest (2014) A

Merrow Golden (2014)

Horatio Waller (2014) A

Daisy Noble (2015)

Charles Merrett (2016)

Esther Drabkin-Reiter (2017)

Michael Brendan Brett (2017)

Conor Fegan (2018)

++ Academic Member A Public/Direct Access *Associate Member

Articles, Highlights and Press Releases

Total 29 Articles, Highlights and Press Releases

Injunction for Planning Breaches in Green Belt Granted Despite Opposition from Prime Minister Theres

Saira Kabir Sheikh QC

Read now
High Court Refuses Injunction for Waste Operator and Upholds Revocation of Environmental Permit

John Jolliffe

Read now
Craig Howell Williams QC Qualifies as RICS Accredited Evaluative Mediator

Craig Howell Williams QC

Read now