Firm / Organisation

Fountain Court Chambers

Current View:

This content is provided by Fountain Court Chambers.

Head of Chambers: Bankim Thanki QC
Senior Clerk: Alex Taylor
Head of Administration: Julie Parker
Tenants: 87

THE CHAMBERS Fountain Court is a long-established and leading set of commercial barristers’ chambers. Based in the Temple, London and moments away from the Royal Courts of Justice, Fountain Court is at the forefront of civil and commercial litigation. Commonly described as a magic circle set, chambers comprises of 87 barristers, 36 of whom are silks. Members’ knowledge ranges in relation to practice areas, experience and spoken languages, enabling the clerks at Fountain Court to match an individual members’ expertise to a given case.

WORK UNDERTAKEN Members are recognised leaders in the fields of administrative and public law, aviation, banking and finance, business and regulatory crime, civil fraud, commercial litigation, financial regulation, financial services, insurance/reinsurance, international arbitration, offshore, professional discipline, professional negligence and travel. They are also notable for the wide range of other civil work undertaken, including company, competition, construction, cyber-fraud, employment, energy and natural resources, entertainment and media, financial crime, fraud: crime, health and safety, human rights, IT, inquests, insolvency, intellectual property, international trade, judicial review, partnership, product liability, sport, shipping, tax and telecommunications law. Members are regularly appointed as arbitrators in complex, high-value, international arbitrations.

INTERNATIONAL Members have been admitted to the Bar and have experience of law in a wide variety of jurisdictions: spanning Asia, Africa, the Caribbean, Europe, Latin America, the Middle East and Russia.


Richard Lissack QC (1978) (QC-1994)

David Railton QC (1979) (QC-1996)

Timothy Dutton CBE QC (1979) (QC-1998)

Brian Doctor QC (1991) (QC-1999)

Stephen Moriarty QC (1986) (QC-1999)

Stephen Rubin QC (1977) (QC-2000)

Michael McLaren QC (1981) (QC-2002)

Philip Brook Smith QC (1982) (QC-2002)

Raymond Cox QC (1982) (QC-2002)

Bankim Thanki QC (1988) (QC-2003)

Charles Béar QC (1986) (QC-2003)

Patricia Robertson QC (1988) (QC-2006)

Timothy Howe QC (1987) (QC-2008)

Mark Simpson QC (1992) (QC-2008)

Michael Green QC (1987) (QC-2009)

Richard Handyside QC (1993) (QC-2009)

Leigh-Ann Mulcahy QC (1993) (QC-2009)

Jeffrey Chapman QC (1989) (QC-2010)

Derrick Dale QC (1990) (QC-2010)

Akhil Shah QC (1990) (QC-2010)

Andrew Mitchell QC (1992) (QC-2011)

Paul Gott QC (1991) (QC-2012)

Richard Coleman QC (1994) (QC-2012)

Stuart Ritchie QC (1995) (QC-2012)

Anneliese Day QC (1996) (QC-2012)

John Taylor QC (1993) (QC-2013)

Adam Tolley QC (1994) (QC-2014)

Patrick Goodall QC (1998) (QC-2014)

Ben Valentin QC (1995) (QC-2016)

Rosalind Phelps QC (1998) (QC-2016)

Henry King QC (1998) (QC-2017)

Adam Zellick QC (2000) (QC-2017)

Bridget Lucas QC (1989) (QC-2018)

Paul Sinclair QC (1997) (QC-2018)

James Cutress QC (2000) (QC-2018)

Nicholas Medcroft QC (1998) (QC-2019)

Deepak Nambisan (1998)

Giles Wheeler (1998)

Robin Barclay (1999)

Edward Levey (1999)

Nik Yeo (2000)

Chloe Carpenter (2001)

Ben Lynch (2001)

Laura John (2001)

Paul Casey (2002)

Tamara Oppenheimer (2002)

Andrew Pullen (2016)

Eleanor Davison (2003)

Marianne Butler (2003)

David Murray (2004)

James McClelland (2004)

Simon Atrill (2005)

James Duffy (2005)

Rupert Allen (2005)

Alex Barden (2005)

Alexander Milner (2006)

Adam Sher (2007)

Richard Power (2007)

Craig Ulyatt (2008)

Natasha Bennett (2009)

Nico Leslie (2010)

Daniel Edmonds (2010)

Deborah Horowitz (2010)

Christopher Langley (2011)

Tetyana Nesterchuk(2011)

Christopher Knowles (2011)

Rebecca Loveridge (2011)

Philip Ahlquist (2012)

Niamh Cleary (2012)

Giles Robertson (2012)

Samuel Ritchie (2012)

Leonora Sagan (2012)

James Hart (2012)

Joseph Farmer (2013)

Simon Paul (2013)

Nick Daly (2014)

Max Evans (2015)

Max Kasriel (2015)

Ian Bergson (2015)

Daniel Carall-Green (2015)

Samuel Rabinowitz (2016)

Alexandra Whelan (2016)

Nicolas Damnjanovic (2016)

Jacob Turner (2016)

Damian Bruneau (2016)

Aaron Turner (2017)

Laurentia De Bruyn (2018)

Gillian Hughes (2018)

Sir Francis Jacobs QC (1964) (QC-1984) *

Sir Gordon Langley QC (1966) (QC-1983) *

Sir Mark Potter QC (1963) (QC-1981) *

Anthony Boswood QC (1970) (QC-1986) *

Sir Andrew Smith QC (1994) (QC-1990) *

Michael Brindle QC (1975) (QC-1992) *

Michael Crane QC (1975) (QC-1994)

Professor Andrew Burrows QC (1985) (QC-2003) *

Dr Louise Merrett (1995) *

David R Wingfield (2013) *

Professor Lawrence Boo *

Professor Peter Watts QC (New Zealand) *

Philippa Hamilton (1984) *

Luca G. Radicati di Brozolo (2014) *

Katherine Watt (2002) *

Sebastian Said (2004) *

Professor Benjamin Hughes *

Kanaga Dharmananda SC *

Eric A Schwartz *

Gaurav Pachnanda SA *

Christine Artero *

Ian Benjamin SC *

* Door Tenant

Articles, Highlights and Press Releases

Total 1 Articles, Highlights and Press Releases

Banking Set of the Year and Professional Negligence Set of the Year

Richard Handyside, Mark Simpson, Ben Lynch, Adam Sher

Read now