Firm / Organisation

Farrar's Building

Current View:

This content is provided by Farrar's Building.

Head of Chambers: Patrick Harrington QC
Senior Clerk/Practice Manager:
Alan Kilbey MBE
Chambers Manager: Steve Gurnett
Tenants: 47

Farrar’s Building is a long established specialist set of chambers with particular expertise in the following main areas of practice: personal injury; employment; serious and white-collar crime; health and safety; inquiries; and professional liability and disciplinary tribunals. Members of chambers also specialise in clinical negligence, professional negligence, insurance, fraud and fundamental dishonesty, travel, probate, product liability and commercial (see individual biographies). Chambers has an established reputation for excellence, with members acting for a variety of corporate bodies, insurance companies, prosecuting authorities, sporting bodies and players, disciplinary, regulatory and professional bodies, as well as individuals. It is a friendly and reliable set of chambers, which prides itself on the way it is efficiently clerked and administered by an experienced team.

Personal injury is the largest field of practice for chambers. The PI team is involved in the whole spectrum of cases from very serious catastrophic injury claims to straightforward small track claims. It covers all aspects of work, from road traffic accidents, including mechanical defect and causation issues, to accidents at work, ‘slips and trips’, injuries caused by defective products, disaster and disease litigation, travel and tourism law. The health and safety team works closely with, and benefits from, Farrar’s Building’s strong PI team. Chambers has been involved in a number of high profile cases in this area. Employment law is another major area of practice for chambers. It specialises in all aspects of employment law, dealing with a wide range of employment issues, from advocacy in Employment Tribunals, the Employment Appeal Tribunal, and higher courts to advisory work. Chambers has a specialist criminal team, involved in major fraud and serious crime cases, and has close links with Wales where it remains a dominant force on the Welsh Circuit. Chambers is and has been involved in many of the major cases on the circuit and members of the criminal team are highly sought-after. Chambers has a long history of involvement in Public Inquiries and of chairing/appearing before a range of Regulatory and Disciplinary Tribunals. Members of chambers also offer expertise in contract and commercial litigation, covering such areas as sale of goods and consumer credit and commercial fraud, insurance matters and product liability; clinical negligence and all areas of professional negligence; costs and taxation actions, including solicitors’ bills of costs, counsels’ fees and legal aid costs; sports and competition cases include contracts, advertising and sponsorship and restraint of trade. Members also have experience in administrative and public law matters, including judicial review, local government, education, health, probate, housing and pharmaceutical actions.

Farrar’s Building advertises all pupillage vacancies through the Bar Council Pupillage Gateway. Two vacancies a year are normally advertised, with an award currently of £55,000. Applicants for tenancy are also welcome, please see the website for further details.


Patrick Harrington QC (1973) (QC-1993) +

Paul Lewis QC (1981) (QC-2001) +

Geoffrey Williams QC (2013) (QC-2003)A

Gordon Cole QC (1979) (QC-2006)

Ian Unsworth QC (1992) + (QC-2010)

Christopher Quinlan QC (1992) (QC-2011)A

Nigel Spencer Ley (1985)

Andrew Peebles (1987)A

John Meredith-Hardy (1989)A

Shabbir Lakha (1989)

Leighton Hughes (1989)A

Helen Hobhouse (1990)A

Andrew Arentsen (1995)

Lee Evans (1996)

Nick Blake (1997)A

Huw Davies (1998)A

James Pretsell (1998)A

Andrew Wille (1998)A

Howard Cohen (1999)A

Guy Watkins (1999)A

Carwyn Cox (2002)A +

Matthew Kerruish-Jones (2003)

Neil Baki (2003)

James Plant (2004)A

Tom Bourne-Arton (2005)A

Emma Sole (2005)A

David Roderick (2005)A

John Brown (2005)

Victoria Logue (2005)

Grant Goodlad (2006)A

Tim Found (2006)A

James Rozier (2007)A

Changez Khan (2008)A

Hannah Saxena (2010)A

Joshua Hedgman(2011)A

Aidan O’Brien (2011)A

Robert Golin (2011)

Jake Rowley (2011)A

Frederick Lyon (2012)

Joel McMillan (2014)A

Laura Fitzgibbon (2016)

Tom Emslie-Smith (2016)

Martin Ferguson (2016)

Amelia Highnam (2016)

Rosalind Young (2017)

Michael Dougherty (2017)

Peter Savory (2018)