Firm / Organisation

Compass Chambers

Current View:

This content is provided by Compass Chambers.

Set Directors: Astrid Smart, Robert Milligan QC
Senior Clerk: Gavin Herd (0131) 260 5648
Clerks: Erica Marmo (0131) 260 5696, Kiera Johnston (0131) 260 5657, Lesley Hogg (0131) 260 5661
Tenants: 44

THE CHAMBERS Compass Chambers is a recognised centre of excellence in reparation, professional negligence and regulatory crime litigation. Compass Chambers’ ethos is simple: to demonstrate excellence at all times, always working together with clients to achieve the best possible outcome. Chambers’ membership, based exclusively on merit, embraces this ethos which is central to outstanding reputation. Members include some of the most well instructed, and highly regarded counsel at the Scottish Bar and, as a result, have considerable experience in all Scottish courts from the Sheriff Court to the UK Supreme Court. Many of the chambers’ members are on the panels of several leading insurers, publishers and disciplinary bodies.
An essential part of the Compass ethos is to seek and give added value at all times. To that end, Compass hosts regular conferences across the country at which the most recent developments in the set’s respective core areas are presented to a wide audience.
As an organisation, Compass is at the forefront of innovating in the way in which counsel interact with agents and clients, and aims to offer a commercially sensitive, comprehensive and cost-effective service.

In the reparation field members of Compass specialise in personal injury, property damage, insurance law and fatal accident inquiries.
Regulatory Crime: In the field of regulatory crime, members specialise in the defence of the allegations brought under health and safety, environmental, corporate financial and road traffic legislation, and also appear regularly in fatal accident inquiries; in particular those relating to fatalities in the workplace.
Professional Negligence: In the field of professional negligence, members specialise in clinical negligence, solicitors negligence, property related actions and financial services actions.

In addition to its core strength, Compass includes specialists in contract and commercial litigation, public inquiries and judicial review proceedings within its membership.


Ian Mackay QC (1980) (QC-1993)

Susan O’Brien QC (1987) (QC-1998)

Marion Caldwell QC (1986) (QC-2000)

Andrew Smith QC (1988) (QC-2002)

Peter Gray QC (1992) (QC-2002)

Mark Stewart QC (1988) (QC-2005)

Lesley Shand QC (1990) (QC-2005)

Geoff Clarke QC (1994) (QC-2008)

Murdo MacLeod QC (1994) (QC-2008)

Angela Grahame QC (1995) (QC-2009)

Robert Milligan QC (1995) (QC-2009)

David Sheldon QC (1998) (QC-2013)

John Scullion QC (2002) (QC-2014)

Kay Springham QC (1999) (QC-2016)

Steve Love QC (2001) (QC-2016)

Preston Lloyd (1996)

Malcolm McGregor (1998)

Gordon Lamont (1999)

Astrid Smart (1999)

Kenneth Christine (2000)

Steve Laing (2002)

Calum Wilson (2002)

David McNaughtan (2003)

Graeme Middleton (2003)

Claire Mitchell (2003)

Susan Duff (2003)

James Hastie (2004)

Amber Galbraith (2005)

Barry Smith (2005)

Robin Cleland (2005)

Yvonne Waugh (2006)

Louis Moll (2006)

Richard Pugh (2008)

Craig Murray (2008)

Richard Henderson (2009)

Gavin Thornley (2009)

Emma Toner (2009)

Charles Lugton (2012)

Clare Connelly (2013)

Barney Ross (2013)

Kate Bennett (2014)

Grant Markie (2014)

David Swanney (2017)

Kevin Henry (2018)