Firm / Organisation

Ten Old Square

Current View:

This content is provided by Ten Old Square.

Head of Chambers: Francis Barlow QC
Senior Clerk: Keith Plowman
Deputy Senior Clerk: Marc Schofield
First Junior Clerk: Fay Bennett
Accounts & Administration: Debbie Thomas
Business Development Manager: Toni Sanson

THE CHAMBERS Acknowledged as one of the finest, full-service Chancery sets, containing many outstanding barristers, Ten Old Square has an excellent reputation for traditional and commercial Chancery work and was recognised as ‘Chambers of the Year’ at the STEP 2013/14 and 2015/16 Private Client Awards.

THE SET Three QCs and 24 juniors form the wealth of specialist talent available at this set. The head of Chambers is Francis Barlow QC, and all three silks in chambers are distinguished experts in the private client Chancery disciplines.
The set boasts many highly-regarded juniors with busy, niche Chancery practices. Many are authors or editors of some of the foremost textbooks on Chancery law including the authoritative ‘Williams on Wills’. All members belong to the Chancery Bar Association and many also belong to STEP, ACTAPS, APP, FLBA, PBA and COMBAR. Ten Old Square is LawNet’s approved chambers for private client matters and also offers annual training events and provides bespoke in-house seminars in its principal areas of practice for solicitors in related areas.
Ten Old Square is a traditional Chancery set that employs the latest technology and know-how to deliver a modern and efficient client service. Keith Plowman is the Senior Clerk and, along with his colleague Marc Schofield, he manages Chambers and co-ordinates the practices of each barrister. Keith has been the Senior Clerk at Ten Old Square for over 25 years and Marc is similarly qualified. Together they have a built up an enviable reputation for their professional yet candid approach to their work.

WORK UNDERTAKEN The balance of traditional and commercial Chancery work at Ten Old Square is evenly distributed and compliments the demand from clients within the sector. Along with private client work the commercial Chancery disciplines are well catered for, along with property litigation, planning and land law. Additionally, Ten Old Square is now the foremost set for partnership/LLP disputes and advice. The set handles a wide range of diverse cases, including major litigation in the Chancery and commercial divisions of the High Court and the Appellate courts. It has a significant presence in many offshore jurisdictions, as well as in the County Court and at planning inquiries and appeals, the Administrative Court, and other tribunals.
A substantial amount of ADR (arbitration and mediation) is also undertaken. As a general guide, the principal areas of work undertaken are:
Private Client: Ten Old Square is one of the leading sets for contentious and non-contentious trust work in the UK and in offshore jurisdictions. Capital taxes, wills, probate and the administration of estates, along with Court of Protection, family provision, matrimonial property and finance are also comprehensively covered.
Commercial Chancery: Partnership (including dissolution, expulsions, compulsory retirement, LLPs, MDPs restrictive covenants and partnership accounts), banking and financial services, insurance and reinsurance, commercial litigation, financial regulation, company, insolvency, professional negligence, and public procurement.
Property, Land & Real Estate: Planning inquiries and appeals, landlord and tenant, rent review, 1954 Act renewals, conveyancing, commercial property, leasehold enfranchisement, easements, intervener and third party property claims, cohabitation claims, mortgages, manorial rights including mineral rights, construction and fracking matters.

INTERNATIONAL The set has a number of barristers who have substantial private client practices overseas in Bermuda, Cayman Islands, Bahamas, Guernsey, Jersey and Hong Kong

LANGUAGES French, German.


Francis Barlow QC (1965) (QC-2006)

Simon Taube QC (1980) (QC-2000)

Michael Mello QC (1972) (QC-1990) Bermuda *

Eason Rajah QC (1989) (QC-2011)

Anthony Molloy QC (1969) * (QC-1984) New Zealand

Ken Handley QC (1959) * (QC-1973) Australia

Frances Burton (1972) *

Gregory Hill (1972)

Rt Hon James Arbuthnot MP (1975) *

David Schmitz (1976)

Sidney Ross (1983)

Paul Stafford (1987)

Julian Roberts (1987)

Susannah Meadway (1988)

Jeremy Callman (1991)

Jonathan Gavaghan (1992)

Samuel Laughton (1993)

Robert Arnfield (1996)

Evan Price (1997)

Richard Dew (1999)

Georgia Bedworth (2001)

Philip Jenkins (2003)

Matthew Slater (2005)

Naomi Winston (2006)

Gideon Roseman (2007)

Leon Pickering (2010)

James MacDougald (2011)

Bryony Robinson (2013)

James Poole (2016)

* Door Tenant