Firm / Organisation

St John's Chambers

Current View:

This content is provided by St John's Chambers.

Head of Chambers: Susan Hunter
Chief Executive: Derek Jenkins
Practice Manager (Commercial/Chancery): Robert Bocock
Practice Manager (Family): Luke Hodgson
Practice Manager (Personal Injury & Clinical Negligence): Annette Bushell
Office Manager: Isabelle Mills
Tenants: 81

THE CHAMBERS St John’s Chambers is one of the largest and most prestigious barristers’ sets in the South West, with nine silks and 81 juniors attracting high quality work in all major areas of civil law. The set was recently voted ‘Regional Set of the Year 2018’ by Legal 500, an award which endorses its position as a stand out national set. St John's Chambers demonstrates excellence and innovation in the provision of legal services having been involved in a number of landmark decisions in the High Court and Court of Appeal. As one of the go-to chambers for legal advice outside London, the set receives high level complex instructions from law firms across the UK, multi-national businesses, high net-worth individuals and people from all walks of life. 
Whether you are a law firm, a business, a public sector organisation or a private individual, you can be sure you will receive legal expertise and client care of the very highest standards from St John’s. The set's barristers are described by peers as easy to work with and committed to delivering quality advice on time. They will prepare the strongest possible case and keep all parties informed at every stage. As part of our commitment to our clients, we make sure all communications are timely, clear and concise.
St John's Chambers' client base includes regional and national law firms, representing and advising prominent businesses and private individuals. The set also provides advice and representation under the public access scheme to members of the public and individual professionals and executives such as planning consultants, managing directors and doctors.

TYPES OF WORK UNDERTAKEN St John's Chambers' top tier expertise in 15 core practice areas: agriculture and rural affairs, clinical negligence, commercial, construction and engineering, Court of Protection, employment, family and divorce, inquests and public inquiries, international arbitration, personal injury, professional negligence, public and administrative law, real estate, tax, wills and trusts. Each core practice area has a dedicated clerking team to advise clients on the most suitable barrister for their case.


Christopher Sharp QC (1975) (QC-1999) + A

Leslie Blohm QC (1982) (QC-2006) +

Kathryn Skellorn QC (1993) (QC-2014) +

Christopher Wilson-Smith QC (1965) (QC-1986) ° A

Derek O'Sullivan QC (1990) (QC-2006) °

Frances Judd QC (1984) (QC-2006) °

Suzanne Ornsby QC (1986) (QC-2012) °

Matthew Phillips QC (1993) (QC-2017) °

William Godwin QC (1986) (QC-2017) °

Jeremy Phillips QC (2004) (QC-2018) °

David Fletcher (1971) A

Ian Bullock (1975)

Timothy Grice (1975) +

John Blackmore (1983)

Richard Stead (1979) +

Robin Neill (1979)

Charles Auld (1980)

Peter Wadsley (1984)

Catriona Duthie (1981)

Susan Hunter (1985) A

Nick Miller (1994)

Glyn Edwards (1987)

Simon Morgan (1988) **

Guy Adams (1989) A

Kamala Das (1975) A

Tom Leeper (1991) A

John Sharples (1992) A

Andrew Kearney (2007)

Alison Graham-Wells (1992)

Dianne Martin (1992) A

Prof. Roy Light (1992) A

Andrew McLaughlin (1993) A

Adrian Maxwell (1993) ** A

Sarah Phillimore (1994)

David Regan (1994) A

Timothy Leader (1994)

James Pearce-Smith (2002)

John Dickinson (1995) A

Judi Evans (1996) A

Matthew White (1997) A

Matthew O’Regan (2015)

Graeme Harrison (1997)

Emma Zeb (1998) + A

Julian Horne (1998)

Alex Troup (1998) A

Abigail Bond (1999)

Justin Valentine (1999)

Delia Thornton (1999)

Zahid Hussain (2001)

Vanessa McKinlay (2000)

Rachel Russell (2001) A

Lucy Reed (2002) A

Caroline Elford (2002)

Julia Belyavin (2003) A

Zoë Saunders (2003) A

Rebecca Taylor (2003) A

Christopher Jones (2004)

Darren Lewis (2004) A

Andrew Commins (2004) A

Jody Atkinson (2005) A

Richard Gold (2006) A

Patrick West (2009)

Jimmy Barber (2008)

James Marwick (2008)

Ben Handy (2008)

Olivia Pike (2008)

Oliver Wooding (2009)

Richard Norman (2009)

Michael Clarke (2009)

Natasha Dzameh (2010)

Nicholas Pointon (2010)

Charlie Newington-Bridges (2011)

James Hughes (2011)

Adam Boyle (2012)

Jack Harris (2012)

Asha Pearce-Groves (2013)

Marcus Coates-Walker (2013)

Rachel Segal (2013)

Robert Mills (2014)

Bethany Hardwick (2014)

Joss Knight (2014)

Emma Price (2014)

Iain Large (2016)

Oliver Riley (2013)

Sophie Smith-Holland (2015)

Harriet Dudbridge (2015)

Jonathan Lindfield (2015)

Annie Sampson (2017)

Richard Mawhinney (1977) °

Tim Higginson (1977) °

George Rowell (2004)*** A °

Anna Symington (2002) *** °

+ Recorder ++ Associate Member and Deputy High Court Judge ** Deputy District Judge °Associate Member A Public/Direct Access *** Door Tenant