Firm / Organisation

Red Lion Chambers

Current View:

This content is provided by Red Lion Chambers.

Head of Chambers Max Hill QC
Practice Director Mark Bennett
Deputy Practice Director Nick Parkinson
London Clerking Team Lee Young Chris Jones East
Anglian Clerking Team Andy Ioannou, Theresa Feeney
Tenants 95

The Chambers
Red Lion Chambers is recognised as one of the country’s leading sets specialising in all aspects of crime, business crime, regulatory law and professional discipline. At this set client needs are a priority. This ethos is coupled with members’ acknowledged reputation for fearless advocacy and meticulous case preparation. Members are routinely instructed in the most difficult and factually complex cases that come before the courts, many of which attract substantial media attention. Members offer tactical, pragmatic and effective advice coupled with a personable approach and are adept at navigating clients through litigation and court proceedings. Boasting a long and distinguished history, five members have chaired the Criminal Bar Association, including current chair Angela Rafferty QC. The set’s professional reputation is such that members have given evidence and advised Parliament on legal issues. Practice Director, Mark Bennett and his deputy practice director, Nick Parkinson lead a highly experienced practice management team, assisting clients in selecting high-quality specialist advocates.

Work Undertaken:
Fraud & Business Crime:
Members defend and prosecute complex corporate criminal matters and are highly experienced in handling major cases including domestic and international corruption, investment fraud and market manipulation. A number of members defend in Operation Amazon, the alleged carbon trading fraud. Another member successfully secured the acquittal of his defendant in the second SFO Libor trial. Other high-profile cases include Euribor, Operation Hornet (HBOS), Forex Inquiry, Libor 1, and many more. Members advise commercial organisations on confidential and discreet areas of concern. Examples include instructions to advise international banking groups on fraud and corruption-related issues.

Crime: Chambers has extensive experience in all aspects of criminal law including terrorism, sexual offences, human trafficking, slavery, murder and serious violence, blackmail, false imprisonment, firearm offences and large scale drugs trafficking cases. Recent illustrative cases include Stephen Port (murder), Ziaur Rahman (terrorism), Garth Gatland (child cruelty), Stannard (historic sexual abuse) and the pending Oxford grooming cases.

Professional Disciplinary & Regulatory: Members frequently advise and represent regulators, firms and individuals across a wide range of professions and industries, including the GMC, GDC, GPC, NMC, and NCTL.

Environmental, Fire and Health & Safety: Members defend and prosecute. Recent examples include the Thames Water case that saw a record fine of £20.3m imposed, the prosecution of well-known brands including Glastonbury festival and the Star Wars’ production company and acting for local authorities and fire brigades in relation to fatal fires.

Inquiries & Appellate Work: Members have advised and participated in some of the most high-profile inquiries and inquests in the country. Ongoing instructions include counsel appointed to the Independent Inquiry into Child Sexual Abuse (IICSA) and the Undercover Policing inquiry. Previous instructions include the Al-Sweady inquiry and the 21/7 inquiry.

International: Members are instructed in ground-breaking cases at international courts involving allegations of genocide, crimes against humanity and war crimes.


Max Hill QC (1987) (QC-2008)

Anthony Arlidge QC (1962) (QC-1981)

Richard Sutton QC (1969) (QC-1993)

Antony Shaw QC (1975) (QC-1994)

David Etherington QC (1979) (QC-1998)

The Hon. Dame Linda Dobbs DBE *

Jeremy Benson QC (1978) (QC-2001)

Carey Johnston QC (1977) (QC-2003)

Jonathan Fisher QC (1980) (QC-2003) *

Simon Spence QC (1985) (QC-2009)

Robert Woodcock QC (1978) (QC-2009)

Jane Bewsey QC (1986) (QC-2010)

Ian Leist QC (1981) (QC-2011)

Rosina Cottage QC (1988) (QC-2011)

Angela Rafferty QC (1998) (QC-2012)

Riel Karmy-Jones QC (1995) (QC-2015)

Sara Lawson QC (1990) (QC-2015)

Kate Bex QC (1992) (QC-2017)

Edmund Vickers QC (1993) (QC-2017)

Gillian Jones QC (1996) (QC-2018)

David Walbank (1987) (QC-2018)

Shane Collery (1988) (QC-2018)

Jennifer Dempster (1993) (QC-2018)

Tom Forster (1993) (QC-2018)

Barnaby Jameson (1993) (QC-2018)

Adam Wiseman (1994) (QC-2018)

Lorraine Tucker (1982)

Janine Sheff (1983)

Cyrus Shroff (1983)

Raj Joshi (1983)

Brendan Morris (1985)

John Lyons (1986)

Andrew Marshall (1986)

Sailesh Mehta (1986)

David Young (1986)

Steven Dyble (1986)

Kenneth Millett (1988)

Richard Beynon (1990)

Andrew Thompson (1991)

Michael Skelley (1991)

Christopher Paxton (1991)

Allison Clare (1992)

Valerie Charbit (1992)

Michael Epstein (1992)

Rufus D’Cruz (1993)

Nicola May (1993)

Ian McLoughlin (1993)

Richard Kelly (1994)

Michelle Nelson (1994)

Alistair Fell (1994)

Noel Casey (1995)

Stephen Rose (1995)

Richard Wood (1995)

David Wilson (1996)

Michael Goodwin (1996)

Stephen Requena (1997)

Timothy Godfrey (1997)

Louis-Peter Moll (1998)

Thomas Payne (1998)

David Malone (1998)

Cameron Brown (1998)

Rebecca Chalkley (1999)

Marcus Rickard (2000)

Felicia Davy (2000)

Paul Evans (2001)

Hannah Willcocks (2001)

Priyadarshani Khanna (2001)

Mathew Dance (2001)

Faras Baloch (2003)

Guy Bowden (2003)

Jamie Sawyer (2003)

Hal Watson (2003) *

Emma Gargitter (2003)

James Holland (2004)

Jane Oldfield (2004)

Max Baines (2005)

Trevor Archer (2005)

Jamie Sharma (2005)

Klentiana Mahmutaj (2005)

Bethan Rogers (2007)

Patricia Londono (2008)

Naomi Parsons (2008)

David Claxton (2008)

Matthew Sorel-Cameron (2009)

Laura Kenyon (2009)

Rachel Naylor (2010)

Daniel Robinson (2010)

Joanna Hardy (2010)

Marilyn Vitté (2010)

Genevieve Reed (2011)

Matthew Bainbridge (2011)

Daniel Taylor (2012)

Joseph Bird (2012)

Leila Chaker (2012)

Lucy Giinsberg (2013)

Nina Tavakoli (Qualified Solicitor 2003) (2014)

Tim Kiely (2014)

Laura Hoyano (1983 Alberta, Canada) (2015)

Andrew Herd (2015)

Aimee Riese (2016)