Firm / Organisation

Monckton Chambers

Current View:
Also ranked in:

This content is provided by Monckton Chambers.

Head of Chambers: Tim Ward QC, Philip Moser QC
Senior Clerk: David Hockney
Tenants: 71

THE CHAMBERS Monckton Chambers is a leading set with expertise across a wide range of commercial and civil law, with a particular focus on EU, competition, VAT other indirect taxes and public and administrative law. The set also has significant international expertise conducting a range of work in the fields of public international law, trade and arbitration. The interrelationship between domestic law, EU law and international human rights law is central to much of Chambers’ work, and members have unrivalled expertise in these areas.

Monckton Chambers is recognised as a market leader in specialist advocacy, advisory and dispute-resolution services, and is renowned for members’ intellectual rigour, commercial focus and ability to get results. Members of Chambers act for private sector clients (from multinationals to SMEs and private individuals), the UK Government, regulators, local authorities, NGOs and non-UK bodies, including foreign states and the EU institutions. This breadth of experience means that members are sensitive to the commercial objectives of private clients and also have a good understanding of governmental and regulatory decision making processes.

For the latest update on practice areas, barristers’ CVs, cases, events, news and publications, please visit

INTERNATIONAL Members have an in depth knowledge of foreign domestic laws including a range of EU member states. Several members are also qualified and have rights of audience in foreign jurisdictions including the CIS republics, the Russian Federation and the USA. Services are available to all foreign lawyers, businesses and individuals who are located outside of the UK. 

RECRUITMENT Monckton Chambers is a member of the Bar Council Pupillage Gateway. Chambers offers pupillage for 12 months. Typically, two pupillages have been offered each year, with pupillage awards of £65,000. On average, between 80 and 90% of pupils are offered tenancy.


Tim Ward QC (1994) (QC-2011) A

Philip Moser QC (1992) (QC-2012)

John Swift QC* (1965) (QC – 1981)

Steven Gee QC (1975) (QC-1993)

Michael Collins SC(1978) (SC-1994) *

Ben Emmerson QC (1986) (QC-2000)

Melanie Hall QC (1982) (QC-2002) A

Mark Brealey QC (1984) (QC-2002)

Michael Bowsher QC (1985) (QC-2006) A

Jon Turner QC (1988) (QC-2006)

Ian Wise QC (1992) (QC-2010)

Paul Harris QC (1994) (QC-2011)

Daniel Beard QC (1996) (QC-2011)

Kassie Smith QC (1995) (QC-2013)

Ian Rogers QC (1995) (QC-2014) A

George Peretz QC (1990) (QC-2015) A

Meredith Pickford QC (1999) (QC-2015) A

Gerry Facenna QC (2001) (QC-2016) A

Josh Holmes QC (1997) (QC-2017)

Robert Palmer QC (1998) (QC-2019)

Ronit Kreisberger QC (1999) (QC-2019)

Valentina Sloane QC (2000) (QC-2019)

Rob Williams QC (2000) (QC – 2020)

Frank Mitchell SC (2010) * A (SC – 2019)

Andrew Macnab (1986)

Peter Mantle (1989) A

Raymond Hill (1992)

Alistair Lindsay (1993) A Gregory Pipe (1995)

Ben Rayment (1996)

Eric Metcalfe (1999) A

Piers Gardner (2000) A

Julian Gregory (2000)

William Buck (2001)

Anneli Howard (2002) A

Alan Bates (2003) A

Ben Lask (2003) A

Brendan McGurk (2004)

Philip Woolfe (2004)

Jeremy McBride (2004) A *

Azeem Suterwalla (2004) A

Drew Holiner (2005) A

Ewan West (2006) A

Fiona Banks (2006) A

Anneliese Blackwood (2007)

Laura Elizabeth John (2007) A

Ligia Osepciu (2008)

Tarlochan Lall (2010) A

Julianne Kerr Morrison (2010)

Elizabeth Kelsey (2010)

Nikolaus Grubeck (2010) A

Conor McCarthy (2010)

Alison Berridge (2011)

Michael Armitage (2011)

Thomas Sebastian (2012)

Stefan Kuppen (2013)

Daisy Mackersie (2013)

David Gregory (2014)

James Bourke (2014)

William Hooper (2014)

Panos Koutrakos (2014) *

Jack Williams (2015)

Imogen Proud (2015)

Kristina Lukacova (2015)

Alexandra Littlewood (2016)

Khatija Hafesji (2016)

Ciar McAndrew (2016)

Harry Gillow (2017)

Professor Carl Baudenbacher * (Former President of the EFTA Court 2003-2017)

William Perry (2018)

Alfred Artley (2018)

* Door Tenant

A Public/Direct Access