Firm / Organisation

Falcon Chambers

Current View:

This content is provided by Falcon Chambers.

Head of Chambers: Guy Fetherstonhaugh QC, Stephen Jourdan QC
Chambers Director: Edith A Robertson
Senior Clerk: Johnathan Stannard
Tenants: 43

The Chambers:
Chambers specialises in litigation and advice on all aspects of the law of property and matters relating to it. Falcon Chambers is regarded as one of the leading sets for property litigation and commercial property, as well as landlord and tenant and agricultural law.
A number of members are authors of leading textbooks in their specialist fields, including Woodfall on Landlord and Tenant, Adverse Possession, Muir Watt and Moss on Agricultural Holdings, Gale on Easements, Fisher and Lightwood’s Law of Mortgage, The Electronic Communications Code and Property Law, Hague on Leasehold Enfranchisement, Registered Land, and Commonhold.

Work Undertaken:
All members are expert in landlord and tenant law, including commercial property, rent review, residential landlord and tenant, and agricultural holdings, tenancies and production controls. They also provide expertise in the more general areas of property law, including easements, restrictive covenants, mortgages, conveyancing, co-ownership and trusts of land, options, rights of pre-emption, the Telecommunications Code, mining and mineral rights.
Members are frequently instructed in cases where property rights and principles of insolvency law meet, and where claims for negligence arise against solicitors and surveyors. Some members specialise in the fields of town and country planning, compulsory purchase, EU competition law and building and engineering disputes. Chambers is frequently involved in advisory and litigious work in other jurisdictions, particularly in other common law countries in the Commonwealth. Members of Chambers appear in appeals to the Privy Council. Even in members’ specialist fields, a good deal of their work is concerned with contract law and statutory interpretation. Their activities in commercial property matters have given them considerable expertise in arbitration law and practice, and in work involving valuers and the principles of valuation. Chambers accepts work through the Bar Council’s Licensed Access scheme in appropriate cases. Members also accept appointments as arbitrators, legal assessors or experts.


Jonathan Gaunt QC (1972) (QC-1991) BA

Guy Fetherstonhaugh QC (1983) (QC-2003) BSc

Derek Wood QC (1964) (QC-1978) MA BCL

Kirk Reynolds QC (1974) (QC-1993) MA

Jonathan Karas QC (1986) (QC-2006) MA

Jonathan Small QC (1990) (QC-2006) BA

Stephen Jourdan QC (1989) (QC-2009) MA

Janet Bignell QC (1992) (QC-2015) MA BCL

Caroline Shea QC (1994) (QC-2016) MA

Mark Sefton QC (1996) (QC-2018) MA

Stephanie Tozer (1996) MA (QC2019)

Joanne Moss (1976) MA LLM (EC Law)

Anthony Radevsky (1978) LLB

Wayne Clark (1982) LLB BCL

Barry Denyer-Green (1972) LLM PhD

Paul Letman (1987) BSc

Gary Cowen (1990) LLB

Martin Dray (1992) LLB

Anthony Tanney (1994) BA MJur

Catherine Taskis (1995) BA BCL

Emily Windsor (1995) BA DSU (EC Law)

Edward Peters (1998) BA

Adam Rosenthal (1999) BA

Elizabeth Fitzgerald (2001) LLB

Greville Healey (2002) MA DPhil

Nathaniel Duckworth (2002) BA

Oliver Radley-Gardner (2003) BA

Tamsin Cox (2005) BA

Philip Sissons (2005) BA BCL

Joseph Ollech (2006) BSc

Camilla Chorfi (2008) MA

Cecily Crampin (2008) MA MSc DPhil

Jamie Sutherland (2010) MA

Kester Lees (2010) BA LLB BCL

Ciara Fairley (2011) BA MPhil PhD

Toby Boncey (2013) MA BCL

Tricia Hemans (2013) LLB

Julia Petrenko (2013) BA BCL

James Tipler (2013) MA

Mark Galtrey (2015) MA, MSci, PhD

Gavin Bennison (2015) MA

Imogen Dodds (2017) BA, LLM

Thomas Rothwell (2017) MA