Firm / Organisation

4 New Square

Current View:
Also ranked in:

This content is provided by 4 New Square.

Senior Clerk: Lizzy Stewart
Tenants: 85

4 New Square is a leading commercial set of barristers comprising 84 practitioners, 31 of whom are Queen’s Counsel. Barristers act as specialist advocates and advisers in a wide range of commercial disputes worldwide. The set also acts as an adviser in non contentious disputes. The size of Chambers and the range of experience of its members enables 4 New Square to put together balanced teams of counsel to suit the requirements of each individual case. The set has numerous international as well as academic connections.

Members are consistently recommended for all types of commercial disputes, often with an international element. The reputation of Chambers is particularly strong in relation to claims involving professionals and insurance work as well as in respect to construction disputes, costs, financial services and banking, international arbitration, product liability, sports law as well as regulatory public law and human rights law. Chambers’ expertise in professional liability covers the full range of claims against professionals, not just for negligence but for fraud, breach of fiduciary duty and breach of trust, and disciplinary and regulatory proceedings. All main professions are covered by Chambers. Chambers has considerable experience in multi-party litigation in the context of civil fraud, product liability, professional negligence and disaster claims. In all those areas members of Chambers appear as advocates in the courts and arbitrations at home and in overseas jurisdictions.

Jackson & Powell on Professional Liability’, written by members of the professional liability team, is in its 7th edition and remains a leading authority. Mark Cannon QC is the co-author of ‘Cannon & Mc- Gurk on Professional Indemnity Insurance’ 2nd ed. (2016). ‘Toulson and Phipps on Confidentiality’ 4th ed. (2020) is authored by Charles Phipps, William Harman and Simon Teasdale,while Nicholas Bacon QC is a contributing editor of ‘Cook on Costs’ (2013) as well as Halsbury’s Laws of England. Dr Cyrill Chern is author of ‘The Law of Construction Disputes’ 3rd ed. (2019) and Can Yeginsu is co-author of ‘The Protections for Religious Rights: Law and Practice’ (2013).


Mark Cannon QC (1985) (QC-2008)

Nicholas Davidson QC (1974) (QC-1993)

Justin Fenwick QC (1980) (QC-1993)

Murray Rosen QC (1976) (QC-1993)

Roger Stewart QC (1986) (QC-2001)

Graham Eklund QC (1984) (QC-2002)

Patrick Lawrence QC (1985) (QC-2002)

David Halpern QC (1978) (QC-2006)

Graeme McPherson QC (1993) (QC-2008)

Ben Hubble QC (1992) (QC-2009)

David Turner QC (1992) (QC-2009)

Ben Patten QC (1986) (QC-2010)

Nicholas Bacon QC (1992) (QC-2010)

Paul Nicholls QC (1992) (QC-2012)

Ben Elkington QC (1996) (QC-2012)

Nicholas Fletcher QC (1982) (QC-2014)

Hugh Jory QC (1992) (QC-2014)

Jonathan Hough QC (1997) (QC-2014)

Graham Chapman QC (1998) (QC-2014)

Benjamin Williams QC (1994) (QC-2015)

Jamie Smith QC (1995) (QC-2015)

Neil Hext QC (1995) (QC-2015)

Paul Mitchell QC (1999) (QC-2016)

Alison Padfield QC (1992) (QC-2018)

Nicole Sandells QC (1994) (QC-2018)

Robert Marven QC (1994) (QC-2018)

Siân Mirchandani QC (1997) (QC-2019)

Daniel Saoul QC (2008) (QC-2019)

Dr Cyril Chern, FCIArb (1972)

Glen Tyrell (1977)

Paul Parker (1986)

Hugh Evans (1987)

Nigel Burroughs (1991)

Andrew R Nicol (1991)

Charles Phipps (1992)

Nicola Shaldon (1994)

Paul Cowan (1996)

Michael Bowmer (1997)

Roger Mallalieu QC (1998) (QC-2020)

Richard Liddell QC (1999) (QC-2020)

Amanda Savage QC (1999) (QC-2020)

Stephen Innes (2000)

Scott Allen (2000)

Helen Evans (2001)

Carl Troman (2001)

Clare Dixon (2002)

Miles Harris (2003)

Timothy Chelmick (2004)

Matthew Bradley (2004)

George Spalton (2004)

Benjamin Wood (2005)

Richard O’Brien (2005)

Shail Patel (2006)

Simon Hale (2006)

Hugh Saunders (2006)

George McDonald (2007)

Tom Asquith (2007)

Can Yeginsu (2007)

Lucy Colter (2008)

Thomas Ogden (2008)

Tom Shepherd (2008)

Ben Smiley (2009)

Christopher Greenwood (2009)

Pippa Manby (2010)

Nicholas Broomfield (2010)

Jonathan Worboys (2010)

Anthony Jones (2011)

Hamid Khanbhai (2011)

Benjamin Fowler (2011)

Paul Fisher (2012)

Peter Morcos (2012)

Marie-Claire O’Kane (2013)

Matthieu Gregoire (2013)

Mark Cullen (2013)

Joshua Folkard (2013)

Diarmuid Laffan (2014)

Simon Teasdale (2015)

William Harman (2016)

Seohyung Kim (2016)

Kendrah Potts (2017)

Hannah Daly (2017)

Ian McDonald (2017)

John Williams (2017)

Dr Benjamin Archer (2017)

Melody Ihuoma (2018)

Sir Rupert Jackson (1972) (QC-1987) +

Dr Julie Maxton (1978) +

Aiman Odeh (1985 – Jordanian Bar) +

Jeffrey Benz (1994) +

Garry Borland (2000 – Scottish Bar, 2014 – English Bar) +

John Bellhouse (1972) +

Alex Hall Taylor QC (1996) +

Arvind Nayar (1997)+

Dr Peter Feldschreiber (2000) +

+ Door Tenant