Harcourt Chambers

London Office

Current View:

This content is provided by Harcourt Chambers.

Head of Chambers: Nicholas Goodwin QC
Chambers Director: Simon Boutwood
Practice Managers: Judith Partington and Matt Molloy
Tenants: 64

The Chambers Harcourt Chambers is one of the leading specialist family law sets in the country. It is recommended for its expertise in both children law and family finance.

Based in the Temple and at Oxford, it is home to eight well-known family silks; Nick Goodwin QC, John Vater QC, Karl Rowley QC, Damian Garrido QC, Julia Cheetham QC, Aidan Vine QC, Edward Devereux QC, Jonathan Sampson QC and 58 junior barristers, many of whom are acknowledged as leading practitioners in their fields.

Over the past decade, Harcourt Chambers has established itself as one of the very top ‘across the range’ family law sets and won ‘Family Set of the Year’ at the Chambers UK Bar Awards 2016 and ‘Family Law Chambers of the year – London’ at the LexisNexis Family Law Awards 2018.

It has grown significantly in size and prominence and its members are regularly to be found in high profile and leading cases at first instance, appellate level and in the Supreme Court. Harcourt Chambers is particularly known for the high quality of its advocacy, advice and client care and for its modern and approachable style.

Chambers’ highly regarded family finance practitioners undertake the full range of matrimonial, cohabitee and partnership litigation and have extensive expertise in cases of high value including those where complex issues involving pensions, private companies, farms and overseas assets exist.

Its reputation in the field of children law is well-established and widely recognised in both private and public law. In private law, Harcourt Chambers has renowned expertise in all forms of parental dispute including international relocation and child abduction. Its public law work encompasses care, placement and adoption proceedings, often involving the most complex and severe cases of physical and sexual abuse.


Nicholas Goodwin QC (1995) (QC-2014) + ++

John Vater QC (1995) (QC-2012) A

Karl Rowley QC (1994) (QC-2013) + ***

Damian Garrido QC (1993) (QC-2015) + ++ A

Julia Cheetham QC (1990) (QC 2015) ***+

Aidan Vine QC (1995) (QC-2016)

Edward Devereux QC (2001) (QC-2017)

Jonathan Sampson QC (1997) (QC 2020)

Roger Evans (1970) + A

June Rodgers (1971) A

Alicia Collinson (1982)

Matthew Brett (1987) A

Fiona Hay (1989) + A

Jane Campbell (1990)

Sara Granshaw (1991)

Louise Potter (1993) A

Douglas Allen (1995) A

Simon Miller (1996)

Matthew Brookes-Baker (1998) A

Cecilia Barrett (1998) A

Oliver Wraight (1998)

Andrew Leong (1998) A +

Edward Kirkwood (1999)

Helen Little (1999)

Margaret Styles (2000) A

Craig Jeakings (2000)

James Turner (2001)

Jason Green (2001) A

Julia Shillingford (2002)

Alex Forbes (2003) A

Suzanne Syme (2004)

Michael Gleeson (2004)

Alison Williams (2004)

Frances Harris (2005) A

Kit Firbank (2005)

Chloe Wilkins (2006)

James Dove (2006)

Alex Perry (2007)

Helen Wilkinson (2007) ***

Sian Cox (2008) A

Stephen Crispin (2008)

Mehvish Chaudhry (2008) A

Sara McIlroy (2008)

Vicky Reynolds (2008) A

Emily Rayner (2009) A

Victoria Flowers (2009)

David Marusza (2009) A

Annie Sayers (2009) A

Justine Ramsden (2010) A

Maria Scott-Wittenborn (2012)

Anna Yarde (2012) A

Eleanor Howard (2012) A

Martha Gray (2012) A

Elisabeth Wickham (2012)

Oliver Powell (2013) A

Emma Gatland (2013)

Mavis Amonoo-Acquah (2013)

Rob George (2013) A

Edward Bennett (2013) A

Naomi Scarano (2014)

Curtis Ball (2015)

Hannah Windmill (2016)

Kate Ferguson (2016)

Ethan Connor (2017)

Natasha Miller (2017)

Paige Campbell (2018)

Fazeela Ishmael (2018)

Mark Higgins (2005) ˚

Dr Claire Fenton-Glynn (2017) ˚

+ Recorder

++ Deputy High Court Judge

˚ Associate Member

A Public/Direct Access

*** Door Tenant