11 South Square

London Office

Current View:

This content is provided by 11 South Square.

Head of Chambers: Iain Purvis QC
Senior Clerk: Ashley Carr
Tenants: 18

THE CHAMBERS 11 South Square is a leading set specialising in all areas of intellectual property law. In addition, it is well known for its media and information technology work. Members are often singled out for the excellent quality of advice and advocacy provided. Chambers currently has seven Queen’s Counsel and 11 junior counsel, together with two leading Professors in the area of intellectual property law. The Head of Chambers is Iain Purvis QC. Former members include current Court of Appeal Judges (Lord Justice Floyd and Lord Justice Arnold), the current Presiding Judge of the Intellectual Property Enterprise Court (HHJ Hacon), as well as the late Mr Justice Henry Carr and Lord Justice Pumfrey.

WORK UNDERTAKEN Patents; copyrights and designs; trademarks and passing off; confidential information and privacy; computer law and other technical litigation; data protection and freedom of information; entertainment and media law; performers rights; and European Community law. Members regularly appear before the Supreme Court, Court of Appeal, High Court, as well as the Intellectual Property Enterprise Court and the UK Intellectual Property Office. Members also appear before the European Patent Office in Munich, and the General Court and Court of Justice in Luxembourg. Representation and advice in IP matters is also an important part of Chambers’ work. The command and conduct of such cases requires a thorough understanding of the science and technology involved. Due to their technical expertise, many members act in complex computer software and IT/ telecommunications disputes.

ADDITIONAL WORK Members are often involved in arbitrations and mediations, as advocates, mediators and members of the panel.



Iain Purvis QC (1986) (QC-2006)

Michael Silverleaf QC (1980) (QC-1996)

Mark Vanhegan QC (1990) (QC-2009)

Dr Piers Acland QC (1993) (QC-2010)

Hugo Cuddigan QC (1995) (QC-2015)

Benet Brandreth QC (1999) (QC-2018)

Dr Brian Nicholson (2000) (QC-2019)

Dr Heather Lawrence (1990)

Jacqueline Reid (1992)

Dr Anna Edwards-Stuart (2002)

Kathryn Pickard (2001)

Tom Alkin (2006)

Chris Aikens (2005)

Christopher Hall (2010)

Dr David Ivison (2014)

Dr Adam Gamsa (2015)

Mitchell Beebe (2017 - UK) (2013 - Australia)

Kyra Nezami (2017)

Professor David Vaver **

Professor Lionel Bently (2009)

* * Door Tenant **Associate Member