1 Hare Court

London Office

Current View:

This content is provided by 1 Hare Court.

Head of Chambers: Timothy Bishop QC
Senior Clerk: Steve McCrone
Tenants: 42

The Chambers 1 Hare Court is proud to be the preeminent family law set with unrivalled expertise in relationship generated disputes. Chambers traces its history back more than 200 years. Its illustrious former members include three former Presidents of the High Court Family Division, three former members of the Court of Appeal, two current High Court Judges (Philip Moor and Nicholas Mostyn) and three former High Court Judges. Chambers now has 41 barristers (13 silks and 28 juniors) and four associate members, all with the highest academic and professional credentials; many of whom play a major role in the delivery of high quality publications for the education of the profession. It is the birth place of At a Glance and members make significant contributions to Rayden & Jackson on Relationship Breakdown, Finances and Children, to the journal Family Law and to the FLBA journal Family Affairs, along with editing the Family Law Reports. The 1 Hare Court annual seminar remains the ‘go-to’ fixture in the family law year for all family law solicitors, providing up to date analysis of current legal issues and a much celebrated party afterwards. Chambers also runs smaller seminars for solicitors throughout the year and members regularly speak at conferences throughout the country and in other jurisdictions. Additionally, over the past few years, members have been prominent in the debates over the consequences of Brexit for family law.

Work Undertaken Members of chambers have appeared in many of the landmark financial remedy cases. These have included White v White, Miller v Miller; McFarlane v McFarlane, Charman v Charman, Agbaje v Agbaje, Macleod v Macleod, Radmacher v Granatino and Petrodel v Prest. More recent cases of significance in shaping the direction of family law include Sharland v Sharland (non - disclosure - Martin Pointer QC), Cooper-Hohn v Hohn (special contribution - Martin Pointer QC and Geoffrey Kingscote), Tan v Choy (jurisdiction and forum conveniens – Tim Bishop QC and Rebecca Bailey-Harris), Chai v Peng (jurisdiction and forum conveniens – Richard Todd QC and Nicholas Yates QC), Work v Gray (special contribution - Tim Bishop QC and Nicholas Cusworth QC), Birch v Birch (modifying undertakings – John Wilson QC), Thum v Thum (priority in an international jurisdiction race – Martin Pointer QC and Rebecca Carew Pole), Owens v Owens (ground for divorce – Nigel Dyer QC), Waggott v Waggott (earning capacity as a resource – Nigel Dyer QC and Lily Mottahedan), Martin v Martin (valuation of company shares in a private company – Martin Pointer QC, Rebecca Carew Pole and Kyra Cornwall), XW v XH (special contributions, latent potential, separation of property agreements and marital/non-marital property – Martin Pointer QC and Rebecca Carew Pole).

Reported cases in the higher courts attract publicity, but Chambers maintains a strong representation in litigation at all court levels and in alterna¬tive dispute resolution. Chambers has a large and expert team of barrister-mediators. Chambers has been and continues at the forefront of family arbitration practice, with a strong team of family law arbitrators including Gavin Smith (who was the arbitrator in the two landmark cases of S v S and DB v DLJ). Senior and associate members of chambers bring their particular expertise in financial remedy proceedings to private FDR hearings, an increasingly popular form of dispute resolution given the current strains on court services, both as advocates and as judges (including former members of the judiciary such as Martin Berry). Chambers also provides direct access services at all levels of membership. It has an impressive international presence, with members providing representation or expert evidence in many overseas jurisdictions, geographically as far apart as the Cayman Islands and Hong Kong. Members of chambers are supported by a highly efficient and award winning clerks’ room run under the careful eye of Steve McCrone.


Timothy Bishop QC (1991) (QC-2011)

Martin Pointer QC (1976) (QC-1996)

Deborah Bangay QC (1981) (QC-2006) *

Nigel Dyer QC (1982) (QC-2006)

Ann Hussey QC (1981) (QC-2009)

Nicholas Cusworth QC (1986) (QC-2009) *

Richard Todd QC (1988) (QC-2009)

John Wilson QC (1981) (QC-2011)

Katharine Davidson (1987) (QC-2011)

Stephen Trowell QC (1995) (QC- 2015)

Justin Warshaw QC (1995) (QC-2015)

Geoffrey Kingscote QC (1993) (QC-2017) •

Nicholas Yates QC (1996) (QC-2018)

Nicholas Carden (1981) * •

Gavin Smith (1981)* •

Christopher Wood (1986) •

Elisabeth Todd (1990)

Nichola Gray (1991)

Simon Webster (1997)

Rebecca Carew Pole (1999) •

Emma Sumner (1999)

Rebecca Bailey-Harris (2000) •

Eleanor Harris (2001) •

Tom Carter (2001) •

Rachel Spicer (2002) •

Christian Kenny (2003) •

Jude Allen (2004) •

Richard Sear (2005) * •

Nicholas Wilkinson (2006) •

Katherine Cook (2007) •

Madhavi Kabra (2008)

Phillip Blatchly (2008)

Kyra Cornwall (2011)

Lily Mottahedan (2011)

Joshua Viney (2013)

Thomas Harvey (2013)

Ben Wooldridge (2013)

James Webb (2015)

Georgina Howitt (2016)

Roxane Reiser (2017)

Sir Matthew Thorpe + * •

Michael Horowitz QC + * •

Bruce Blair QC + * •

Martin Berry + * •

+ Associate Member * Arbitrator • Mediator