Firm / Organisation

Radcliffe Chambers

Current View:

This content is provided by Radcliffe Chambers.

Head of Chambers: Keith Rowley QC
Senior Clerks: Keith Nagle, John Clark
Chief Executive: Fiona Fitzgerald
Clerks: Lee Wright, Justin Allen, Vince Carter, Bradley Edwards, George Rushton, Charles Edwards
Tenants: 63

THE CHAMBERS Radcliffe Chambers is a modern chambers based in historic Lincoln’s Inn. It specialises in commercial, private client, property, insolvency, pensions and charity law. The achievements of Chambers and its individual members have been recognised in recent years in the Chambers UK Bar awards, The UK Diversity Legal awards, STEP private client awards, The Lawyer awards, Halsbury Legal awards, Legal Week awards, The British Legal awards, The Legal Cheek awards and Solicitor Journal awards. Members of Chambers are regularly involved in the leading cases in their fields and chambers continues to grow its reputation for quality and innovative legal services. Services are supported by a professional and dedicated clerking and management team that provides a transparent and client driven service.

WORK UNDERTAKEN Radcliffe Chambers’expertise encompasses a wide variety of commercial and chancery litigation and advice, including banking and financial services, charities, contracts, corporate and company, fraud and asset tracing, international arbitration, partnerships and LLPs, pensions, professional liability, real estate, restructuring and insolvency, tax and all manner of private client matters, from trusts, wills and tax, to issues arising in the Court of Protection.

PUBLICATIONSA Practitioner’s Guide to the Court of Protection’ (Bloomsbury Professional, 4thed., 2018) - Justin Holmes (contributor); ‘Insolvency Litigation: A Practical Guide’ (Sweet & Maxwell, 2nd ed., 2018)– Adam Deacock (co-editor), Mark Mullen, Reuben Comiskey, Dawn McCambley, Christopher Buckley, Josh Lewison, Martin Ouwehand, Jonathan Edwards, Christopher Boardman, Catherine Doran, Shantanu Majumdar; Wurtzburg and Mills (editors); Spencer Bower on Reliance-Based Estoppel (5th ed., 2017) (Peter Crampin QC, Piers Feltham, Joshua Winfield); ‘The Law of Investor Protection’, 2nd ed. (contributing editors);‘Halsbury’s Laws of England’ (Mutual Institutions) (contributing editors); ‘Halsbury’s Laws of England’ (Friendly Societies);‘Retail Mortgages: Law, Regulation and Procedure’– Sweet & Maxwell (Malcolm Waters QC, Elizabeth Ovey and Mark Fell);‘Standard Conditions of Sale’ (Malcolm Waters QC and Elizabeth Ovey); ‘Standard Commercial Property Conditions’ (Malcolm Waters QC and Elizabeth Ovey);‘Running a Charity’, Mark Mullen, Jordans (4th ed., 2015);‘Companies Limited by Guarantee’, Mark Mullen and Josh Lewison, Jordans (4th ed., 2014). 

INTERNATIONAL A large percentage of Chambers’ cases involve an international element, whether before the English courts regarding assets held abroad, as part of an international arbitration, or in a dispute being heard before the courts of another country. Chambers’ regularly undertakes litigation and advisory work in major offshore jurisdictions such as the British Virgin Islands, the Cayman Islands, Guernsey, Gibraltar, Hong Kong, the Isle of Man, Jersey and Singapore. Members have also acted in a wide variety of common and civil law jurisdictions, including Australia, Brunei, France, Greece, Northern Ireland, the Republic of Ireland, Scotland, South Africa, Spain and St Kitts and Nevis. Members are frequently seconded to Jersey advocates’ firms to assist on individual cases or provide general expertise.

RECRUITMENT Radcliffe Chambers offer up to two funded 12-month pupillages with a view to offering tenancies to both pupils at the end of the year if circumstances permit. Each pupil sits with four different supervisors, and has the opportunity to work with a number of other members. Pupils are encouraged to gain as much advocacy experience as possible during their second six. In recent years, the second six pupils have been able to undertake a significant amount of their own court work.


Peter Crampin QC (1976) (QC-1993)

Jeremy Cousins QC (1977) (QC-1999)

Keith Rowley QC (1979) (QC-2001)

Avtar Khangure (1985) (QC-2003)

Robert Pearce QC (1977) (QC-2006)

David Mohyuddin QC (1999) (QC - 2016)

James Morgan QC (1996) (QC-2017)

Thomas Dumont QC (1979) (QC-2019)

Shantanu Majumdar QC (1992) (QC-2020)

Christopher Boardman QC (1995) (QC-2020)

Kate Selway QC (1995) (QC-2020)

Francesca Quint (1970)

David Di Mambro (1973)

Gordon Nurse (1973)

Elizabeth Ovey (1978)

Simon Williams (1984)

Tina Kyriakides(1984)

Piers Feltham (1985)

Howard Smith (1986)

Roger Mullis (1987)

Charles Holbech (1988)

Katherine McQuail (1989)

Adam Deacock (1991)

Peter Dodge (1992)

Marie-Claire Bleasdale (1993)

Justin Holmes (1994)

Dov Ohrenstein(1995)

Douglas Keel (1997)

Caroline Bolton (1998)

Anthony Dearing (1998)

Paul Burton (1998)

Clive Moys (1998)

William Moffett (2000)

Nathan Wells (2000)

Gary Lidington (2000)

Joshua Winfield (2001)

Marcus Flavin (2001)

Reuben Comiskey (2002)

Martin Ouwehand (2002)

Oliver Hilton (2002)

Matthew Weaver (2002)

Tom Beasley (2003)

Steven Barrett (2003)

Christopher Buckley (2004)

Mark Fell (2004)

Edward Hicks (2004)

Josh Lewison (2005)

Wendy Mathers (2005)

Dawn McCambley (2005)

Catherine Doran (2008)

Daniel Burton (2009)

Kate Rogers (2009)

Henry Day (2011)

Katie Longstaff (2013)

Nicholas Macklam (2013)

Sophia Rogers (2013)

Andrew Brown (2014)

Jonathan Edwards (2014)

Lauren Kreamer (2017)

Matthew Mills (2016)

Emma Loizou (2018)

Poppy Rimington-Pounder (2018)

Natalie Pratt (2018)