Firm / Organisation

Keating Chambers

Current View:

This content is provided by Keating Chambers.

Head of Chambers: Marcus Taverner QC
Tenants: 59

THE CHAMBERS Keating Chambers is a leading set of commercial barristers’ chambers with a thriving domestic and international practice. Comprising 59 barristers (including 28 silks), Keating Chambers has the strength and depth across the range of seniorities to support its clients’ needs. With a number of international members permanently based in either Australia, Hong Kong, Singapore or South Africa, the set can provide commercial and practical advice, together with a first rate flexible and client-focused service, worldwide. Barristers at Keating Chambers specialise in providing advocacy and advisory services across construction and engineering; energy and natural resources; infrastructure and utilities; international arbitration; IT and technology; offshore construction and marine engineering; procurement and competition and associated professional negligence. The set has received a number of awards for its expertise including ‘Construction Chambers of the Year’, ‘Client Care Chambers of the Year’, and both ‘Construction Silk of the Year’ and ‘Junior of the Year’.

Members provide advisory services on all internationally recognised forms of contract including FIDIC, NEC, IChemE, LOGIC, SAJ and AWES, and regularly act in disputes concerning bespoke contracts often amended to some degree from these standard forms. They also have extensive experience with PPP, PFI, and partnering and alliancing contracts.

Members regularly appear in the various divisions of the High Court – but especially in the Technology and Construction Court and the Commercial Court – and also the Court of Appeal, the Privy Council and Supreme Court. Their ADR expertise covers domestic and international arbitration, adjudication (statutory and contractual), mediation, dispute review boards and expert determination.

Senior members are also frequently appointed as arbitrators by many of the world’s leading appointing bodies, such as the International Chamber of Commerce (ICC), the London Court of International Arbitration (LCIA) and other overseas centres including Dubai (DIAC), Hong Kong (HKIAC), Malaysia (KLRAC), Singapore (SIAC) and Vietnam (VIAC). They are also appointed directly by parties to arbitrations under ICSID and UNCITRAL rules. Members act as experts on English law in overseas jurisdictions, and some members have rights of audience in other jurisdictions.

CLIENTS Architects, construction contractors, building and quantity surveyors, engineers, energy companies, accountants, banks, joint ventures, government departments, professional indemnity insurers, property developers, shipyards, software developers and specialist building sub-contractors.


Marcus Taverner QC (1981) (QC-2000)

Prof John Uff QC (1970) (QC-1983)

Richard Fernyhough QC (1970) (QC-1986)

Dr Christopher Thomas QC (1973) (QC-1989) A

John Marrin QC (1974) (QC-1990)

Stephen Furst QC (1975) (QC-1991) A

Timothy Elliott QC (1975) (QC-1992) A

Dr Robert Gaitskell QC (1978) (QC-1994)

Philip Boulding QC (1979) (QC-1996) A

Adrian Williamson QC (1983) (QC-2002) A

David Thomas QC (1982) (QC-2002)

Rosemary Jackson QC (1981) (QC-2006) A

Alexander Nissen QC (1985)(QC-2006) A

Sarah Hannaford QC (1989) (QC-2008) A

Simon Hargreaves QC (1991) (QC-2009)

Richard Harding QC (1992) (QC-2009)

Veronique Buehrlen QC (1991) (QC-2010)

Vincent Moran QC (1991) (QC-2011) A

Adam Constable QC (1995) (QC-2011) A

Simon Hughes QC (1995) (QC-2011)

Marc Rowlands QC (1990) (QC-2012)

Piers Stansfield QC (1993) (QC-2012) A

Fionnuala McCredie QC (1992) (QC-2013)

Justin Mort QC (1994) (QC-2014) A

Jane Lemon QC (1993) (QC-2015) A

Jonathan Lee QC (1993) (QC-2015)

Jonathan Selby QC (1999) (QC-2018) A

Lucy Garrett QC (2001) (QC-2018)

Alan Steynor (1975) A

Simon Taylor (1987)

Robert Evans (1989) A

Abdul Jinadu (1995) A

Paul Buckingham (1995) A

Krista Lee (1996) A

Richard Coplin (1997) A

Gaynor Chambers (1998) A

Samuel Townend (1999) A

Gideon Scott Holland (1999) A

Elizabeth Repper (2002)

Calum Lamont (2004) A

Alice Sims (2004) A

William Webb (2005) A

Thomas Lazur (2005) A

James Thompson (2005) A

Peter Brogden (2006) A

Ben Sareen (2008)

Sarah Williams (2008)

Paul Bury (2008)

David Sheard (2010)

David Gollancz (2010)

Brenna Conroy (2010)

Tom Owen (2011)

Matthew Finn (2011)

Charlie Thompson (2012)

Jennie Wild (2013)

Harry Smith (2014)

Tom Coulson (2014)

Emma Healiss (2014)

James Frampton (2016)

Ian Pennicott QC (1982) (QC-2003) ++ A

HH Peter Bowsher QC (1959) (QC-1978) ++

Prof Michael Furmston (1960) ++

Louise Randall (1988) ++

Johan Beyers (1992- Cape Town Bar)

David Welgemoed (2003)

Professor Chin Leng Lim (2011) ++

Robert Fenwick Elliott (2013) (South Australian Bar) ++

Allan Myers AC QC ++

++ Door Tenant/Practising Associate Members

A Public/Direct Access