Firm / Organisation

Doughty Street Chambers

Current View:
Also ranked in:

This content is provided by Doughty Street Chambers.

Heads of Chambers: Geoffrey Robertson QC, Edward Fitzgerald CBE QC
CEO: Mark Dembovsky 
Senior Practice Managers: Sian Wilkins, Matthew Butchard 
Tenants: 152

THE CHAMBERS Doughty Street Chambers is a set of internationally renowned barristers with a reputation for excellence, passion, and the provision of fresh perspectives on the law. Chambers specialises in many fields across multiple jurisdictions, often in cases with a strong emphasis on human rights and civil liberties. Clients are offered a commitment to hard work and an innovative, multi-disciplinary approach. The set comprises over 140 barristers all with a fundamental commitment to going ‘above and beyond’ for clients. Clients include homeless families, children, victims of trafficking, the socially disadvantaged, the mentally and physically disabled, asylum seekers, those accused of criminal offences, regulated professionals, company directors, magic circle and Big 4 firms, United Nations officials, ministers and heads of government, and sovereign states as well as the instructing solicitors who represent them. Members practise in crime, civil law, public and administrative law, international law, mediation, and arbitration from four offices in the UK and The Hague.


Geoffrey Robertson QC (1973) (QC-1988) A

Edward Fitzgerald QC (1978) (QC-1995) A

Helena Kennedy QC (1972) (QC-1991)

Patrick O’Connor QC (1970) (QC-1993) A

Christopher Sallon QC (1973) (QC-1994) A

Peter Carter QC (1974) (QC-1995)

James Wood QC (1975) (QC-1999) A

Andrew Hall QC (1991) (QC-2002)

Joel Bennathan QC (1985) (QC-2006) A

Heather Williams QC (1985) (QC-2006)

Robin Oppenheim QC (1988) (QC-2006)

Nicholas Bowen QC (1984) (QC-2009) A

Isabella Forshall QC (1982) (QC-2010) A

Martin Westgate QC (1985) (QC-2010) A

Jon Whitfield QC (1985) (QC-2010) A

David Hislop QC (1979) (NZ Bar 1979) (QC-2010) A

Tim Moloney QC (1993) (QC-2010) A

Kirsty Brimelow QC (1991) (QC-2011) A

Theo Huckle QC (1985) (QC-2011)

Rebecca Trowler QC (1995) (QC-2012) A

David Bentley QC (1984) (QC-2013) A

Joe Stone QC (1989) (QC-2013)

Stephen Cragg QC(1996) (QC-2013)

Sarah Elliott QC (1996) (QC-2014) A

Aswini Weereratne QC (1986) (QC-2015) A

Richard Fisher QC (1994) (QC-2015) A

Rupert Bowers QC (1995) (QC-2015) A

Henrietta Hill QC (1997) (QC-2015) A

Caoilfhionn Gallagher QC (2001) (QC-2017) A

Paul Taylor QC (1989) (QC-2018) A

Katy Thorne QC (1994) (QC-2018) A

David Carter (1971)

Christopher Hough (1981)

Gerwyn Samuel (1986)

Lauren Soertsz (1987)

Kieran Maidment (1989)

Nick Brown (1990)

Quincy Whitaker (1991)

Stephen Reeder (1991)

Zia Nabi (1991) A

Jonathan Cooper OBE (1992)

John Walsh (1993) A

Mark Henderson (1994) A

Paul Draycott (1994)

Clive Rawlings (1994) A

Jeannie Mackie (1995)

Althea Brown (1995) A

Dominic Preston (1995) A

Ben Chataway (1995) A

Nicholas Toms (1996)

Tublu K. Mukherjee (1996) A

Emma Goodall (1996) A

Joe Middleton (1997) A

Ulele Burnham (1997)

Steven Powles (1997) A

Nick Stanage (1997) A

Lindsay Johnson (1997) A

Sarah Vine (1997)

Jim Shepherd (1998)

Farrhat Arshad (1998) A

Jamie Burton (1999)

Benjamin Narain (1999) A

Ben Cooper (1999) A

Charlotte Kilroy (1999)

John Hobson (1999) A

Garry Green (1999) A

Erimnaz Mushtaq (2000)

David Lemer (2000) A

Dr Oliver Lewis (2000) A

Phil Haywood (2001) A

Ruth Brander (2001)

Amanda Hart (2001) A

Sue Sleeman (2001)

Piers Marquis (2001)

Amos Waldman (2001) A

Liam Walker (2001) A

Laura Dubinsky (2002)

David Rhodes (2002)

Richard Thomas (2002)

Alison Gerry (2003)

Angela Patrick (2003) A

Philippa Eastwood (2003) A

Alasdair Mackenzie (2004)

Benjamin Newton (2004)

Jonathan Price (2004) A

Adam Straw (2004)

David Haines (2005)

Nichola Higgins (2005)

Louise Mankau (2005)

Paras Gorasia (2005)

David Stephenson (2005) A

Gemma Hobcraft (2006) A

Louise Price (2006) A

Malcolm Hawkes (2006) A

Jude Bunting (2006) A

Amelia Nice (2006) A

Kate Annand (2007)

Tunde Okewale MBE (2007) A

Annabel Timan (2007)

Tatyana Eatwell (2007) A

Kate Beattie (2007)

Mary Westcott (2007)

Adam Wagner (2007)

Alex Gask (2008)

Tom Stevens (2008)

Catherine Meredith (2008)

Michelle Knorr (2008)

Sarah Steinhardt (2008) A

Zimran Samuel (2008) A

Rowena Moffatt (2009) A

Amal Clooney (2010) A

Abigail Bright (2010) A

Maria Roche (2010)

Marisa Cohen (2010) A

Harriet Johnson (2010) A

Maryam Mir (2010)

Jesse Nicholls (2010)

Emma Scott (2011)

Graeme L. Hall (2011)

Sam Jacobs (2011)

James Kirk (2011)

Kate O’Raghallaigh (2011)

Paul Mason (2011)

Hayley Douglas (2012)

Jake Taylor (2012) A

Tim Cooke-Hurle (2012) A

Jelia Sane (2013)

Daniel Clarke (2013)

Fiona Murphy (2013)

Antonia Benfield (2013) A

Keina Yoshida (2013)

Katherine O’Byrne (2013)

Pippa Woodrow (2014)

Christopher Johnson (2014)

Agata Patyna (2014) A

Daniella Waddoup (2014)

Mary Rachel McCabe (2015)

Sophy Miles (2015)

Megan Hirst (2015) A

Christopher Sykes (2015)

Emilie Gonin (2015) A

Paul Barker (2015)

Jennifer Robinson (2016) A

A Public/Direct Access