Firm / Organisation

1 Crown Office Row

Current View:

This content is provided by 1 Crown Office Row.

Head of Chambers: Philip Havers QC
Chambers Director: Andrew Meyler
Senior Clerk: Matthew Phipps
Tenants: 73

THE CHAMBERS 1 Crown Office Row is recognised as one of the top 20 sets in the UK and a leader in civil and public law. A striking feature of the set is its breadth of work and the diversity of its clients, which include individuals, small businesses, large corporations, NGO’s and local and central Government. 1COR has a stellar reputation for advocacy, high-quality advice and a top drawer client service from the team of clerks, led by Senior Clerk Matthew Phipps. Barristers are known for the versatility of talent and expertise that underpins all of their work. Members practise a broad range of civil law specialisms including health law, public law, professional discipline, professional negligence, inquests, public inquiries, human rights, environmental law, immigration, tax and multinational torts. 1COR has a pre-eminent reputation in health law, including its clinical negligence and personal injury practice, and regulatory work for medical organisations and individuals. Members appear in significant and high profile public and private inquests and inquiries Tax, costs, immigration and environmental law are specialist practice areas for several members, who have been involved in many leading cases in these areas in the European Court, Supreme Court and Court of Appeal. 1COR’s UK Human Rights blog is a widely used resource for people wanting to understand UK human rights and members recently launched Law Pod UK, a podcast providing cutting edge analysis of high profile cases. Members are active in the various specialist bar associations and 1COR sponsors a wide range of charitable initiatives. 1COR provides support to the Bar Pro Bono Unit, Freebar initiative and the Free Representation Unit and has been designated as a ‘Platinum Friend in Law’. 1COR encourages diversity in the workplace and has a dedicated assessed mini-pupillage scheme.

WORK UNDERTAKEN Members are recognised as leading practitioners in healthcare law including clinical negligence, personal injury, professional disciplinary, negligence and regulatory proceedings, public enquiries, abuse compensation and inquests. 1COR has leading practitioners in human rights, immigration, environmental law, sports law and multi-party actions. Some members have strong costs and tax practices. 

PUBLICATIONS The Inquest Book, Information Rights, Same Sex Marriage & Civil Partnerships, Online Law Encyclopaedia, Ethics for Advocates Manual, Dictionary of Law, Personal Injury Handbook, An Introduction to Human Rights and the Common Law, Civil Court Precedents, Public Inquiries, Guide to Child Abuse Compensation Claims, Value Added Tax, Commentary and Analysis, The Regulation of Healthcare Professionals: Law, Principle and Process, Burnett-Hall on Environmental Law, Fitness to Practise: Health Care Regulatory Law, Principle and Process, The Regulation of Healthcare Professionals: Law, Principle and Process, Clinical Negligence - A Practitioner’s Guide, Child Abuse Compensation Claims, Contributory Negligence, Civil Partnership, Clinical Negligence, Personal Injury Handbook, Professional Negligence and Liability, Human Rights and the Common Law.

RECRUITMENT More details on 13 mini-pupillages and ten assessed mini pupillages on 1COR’s website.


Philip Havers QC (1974) (QC-1995)

Robert Seabrook QC (1964) (QC-1983)

Stephen Miller QC (1971) (QC-1990)

Guy Mansfield QC (1972) (QC-1994)

Elizabeth-Anne Gumbel QC (1974) (QC-1999)

Paul Rees QC (1980) (QC-2000)

Margaret Bowron QC (1978) (QC-2001)

David Balcombe QC (1980) (QC-2002)

David Hart QC (1982) (QC-2003)

Martin Forde QC (1984) (QC-2006)

William Edis QC (1985) (QC-2008)

Angus McCullough QC (1990) (QC-2010)

John Whitting QC (1991) (QC-2011)

David Evans QC (1988) (QC-2012)

Richard Booth QC (1993) (QC-2013)

Marina Wheeler QC (1987) (QC-2016)

Henry Witcomb QC (1989) (QC-2016)

Owain Thomas QC (1995) (QC-2016)

Jeremy Hyam QC (1995) (QC-2016)

Clodagh Bradley QC (1996) (QC-2016)

Peter Skelton QC (1997) (QC-2016)

Oliver Sanders QC (1995)

Shaheen Rahman QC (1996)

Sarah Lambert QC (1994) (QC-2018)

Sarabjit Singh QC (2001) (QC-2018)

John Gimlette (1986)

Andrew Kennedy (1989)

Martin Downs (1990)

Giles Colin (1994)

Sydney Chawatama (1994)

Justin Levinson (1994)

Neil Sheldon (1998)

Richard Smith (1999)

Christopher Mellor (1999)

Robert Kellar (1999)

Matthew Barnes (2000)

Iain O’Donnell (2000)

David Manknell (2001)

Suzanne Lambert (2002)

Judith Rogerson (2003)

Amy Mannion (2003)

Robert Wastell (2004)

Richard Mumford (2004)

Rachel Marcus (2005)

Leanne Woods (2005)

Pritesh Rathod (2006)

Caroline Cross (2006)

Matthew Donmall (2006)

Michael Paulin (2007)

Amelia Walker (2007)

Isabel McArdle (2008)

Matthew Hill (2009)

Alasdair Henderson (2009)

Claire McGregor (2009)

Natasha Barnes (2010)

Matthew Flinn (2010)

Paul Reynolds (2010)

Lois Williams (2012)

Jim Duffy (2012)

Dominic Ruck Keene (2012)

Jessica Elliott (2013)

Hannah Noyce (2013)

Michael Deacon (2014)

Rhoderick Chalmers (2014)

Emma Louise Fenelon (2015)

Gideon Barth (2015)

Jo Moore (2015)

Jonathan Metzer (2016)

Charlotte Gilmartin (2015)

Rajkiran Barhey Rosalind English (Academic Cosultant)