4 Stone Buildings

London Office

Current View:
Also ranked in:

This content is provided by 4 Stone Buildings.

Head of Chambers: George Bompas QC
Senior Clerk: David Goddard
Tenants: 38

Chambers currently consist of 38 members, including eight silks. Four members are currently on the Treasury Panels. Four members are appointed to sit as Deputy Judges of the High Court. One silk is Attorney General to the Duchy of Lancaster and another is Attorney General to the Prince of Wales. Chambers belong to the Commercial Bar Association and the Chancery Bar Association

Work covers all aspects of company and commercial litigation, including shareholders disputes, corporate fraud and asset recovery as well as commercial arbitration, banking, financial services and regulatory work, international trusts and public law. The clerks’ room is staffed during term from 8am to 8pm Monday to Friday and chambers can be contacted out of hours on the number given on the chambers’ answering machine and on the website. Further information about chambers and the work undertaken is available on the websit www.4stonebuildings.com.

Members of chambers have contributed to numerous publications in their specialist fields including ‘Annotated Companies Acts (Oxford University Press)’, ‘Tolley’s Company Law, Atkin Court Forms’ 2nd ed., (volumes on companies, winding up and equitable remedies), ‘Halsbury’s Laws of England’ 4th ed. (volumes on corporations and money); ‘A Practitioner’s Guide to Directors’ Duties and Responsibilities (City & Financial Publishing).

Chambers undertake a substantial amount of work for overseas clients and members regularly receive instructions from the Caribbean, the United States, Europe, Dubai, Central Asia and the Far East. In recent years, members have appeared in court and arbitrations in Bermuda, the Cayman Islands, Bahamas, Gibraltar, Anguilla, the British Virgin Islands, the Turks and Caicos Islands, Malaysia, Singapore, Rwanda, Hong Kong, Nevis, Dominica, Seychelles and Trinidad. In addition certain members are full members of the Northern Ireland Bar, the Cayman Islands Bar and the Bar of the British Virgin Islands.

4 Stone Buildings’ policy is to seek to have up to two pupils each year and to recruit each of those pupils that meet the required standard. Prospective applicants for pupillage will find further information including details of chambers’ awards in the Pupillage Pack which is available on request. Mini-pupillages are encouraged.


George Bompas QC (1975) (QC-1994)

John Brisby QC (1978) (QC-1996)

Robert Miles QC (1987) (QC-2002)

Jonathan Crow QC (1981) (QC-2006)

Richard Hill QC (1993) (QC-2012)

Andrew Clutterbuck QC (1992) (QC-2014)

Orlando Fraser QC (1994) (QC-2014)

Andrew de Mestre (1998) (QC-2019)

Sarah Harman (1987)

Christopher Harrison (1988)

Paul Greenwood (1991)

Nicholas Cox (1992)

Charles Marquand (1987)

Anna Markham (1996)

Hermann Boeddinghaus (1996)

Gregory Denton-Cox (2000)

Sharif Shivji (2001)

Tiran Nersessian (2002)

Alastair Tomson (2004)

Adam Holliman (2005)

Tom Gentleman (2005)

Donald Lilly (2006)

Alexander Cook (2008)

Nicola Timmins (2008)

James Knott (2008)

Eleanor Holland (2010)

Joseph Wigley (2010)

Nienke van den Berg (2012)

Edward Crossley (2012)

Andrew Rose (2013)

Albert Sampson (2014)

Lara Hart (2014)

Emma Horner (2015)

Guy Olliff-Cooper (2015)

Zara McGlone (2016)

Karl Anderson (2017)

Daniel Kessler (2018)

Nicholas Wright (2019)