25 Bedford Row

London Office

Current View:

This content is provided by 25 Bedford Row.

Head of Chambers: Paul Mendelle QC, George Carter-Stephenson QC, Jeremy Dein QC
Senior Clerk: Guy Williams
Clerks: Emma Makepeace, Alfie Lee
Tenants: 71

THE CHAMBERS Awarded Client Services Set of the Year 2018 by Chambers UK, this innovative set specialises in every aspect of modern defence advocacy, acting in the very highest profile cases. Chambers is consistently assessed as a centre of excellence. Widely recognised as the leading chambers in its core practice areas, due to its client focused, high quality service. Its reputation for excellence is best demonstrated by involvement in every recent major criminal trial, whether in fraud, organised crime or murder. Considered to have unsurpassed defence expertise in fraud and financial litigation matters and for providing advisory services and advocacy of the highest quality. Regulatory defence includes professional disciplinary and environmental law. Experienced in the conduct of criminal related civil applications including, restraint, Data Protection Act and search warrants and costs. Excellence extends to the high quality of its staff who have a justified reputation for their knowledge, efficiency and integrity.

Criminal: Unrivalled defence experience and expertise across the entire spectrum of criminal law. Covering all aspects of serious crime including murder, organised crime, drug trafficking, money laundering and crimes of extreme and sexual violence. Members also act for UK nationals charged with serious criminal offences in other national jurisdictions. Private client specialists accept instructions on all criminal matters, focused on reducing the impact on individuals’ reputations, careers and personal lives.
Fraud & Financial Litigation: Specialising in defending individuals and corporations against allegations of international, corporate and financial crime. Providing a full range of advice and representation in both the criminal and civil aspects of this discipline from preliminary stages, including restraint, right through to appeal, confiscation and civil recovery. Assistance is also provided in relation to risk management and compliance, training and advisory work.
Professional Disciplinary & Regulatory: Defence of individuals appearing before their professional bodies, disciplinary tribunals and regulatory authorities. Including healthcare professionals, solicitors, police officers, accountants, sports people and sports organisations. Expertise in all aspects of contentious regulatory work in relation to environmental law and health and safety work, acting for employees, directors and companies.  
Civil Liberties & Human Rights: Acting for persons whose human rights are infringed in a wide range of areas of law including actions against the police and public authorities, extradition, international law, inquests, mental health, prisoners’ rights and public and administrative law. Experts are involved in judicial review and appellate cases and challenges to decisions of a wide range of public authorities. 

INTERNATIONAL WORK Experts in defending those accused of offences perpetrated by States, including war crimes and other human rights abuses and offences against states, including espionage and terrorism. Advice and representation in international human rights law and trans-national justice issues, for individuals, governmental organisations and major NGOs. Members act for and advise clients who face action from foreign governments including for the freezing or forfeiture of their assets. 


George Carter-Stephenson QC (1975) (QC-1998)

Paul Mendelle QC (1981) (QC-2006)

Jeremy Dein QC (1982) (QC-2003)

Nigel Sangster QC (1976) (QC-1998)

Courtenay Griffiths QC (1980) (QC-1998)

Diana Ellis QC (1978) (QC-2001)

Peter Doyle QC (1975) (QC-2002)

Paul Keleher QC (1980) (QC-2009)

David Hooper QC (1971) (QC-2010)

Rudi Fortson QC (1976) (QC-2010)

John Cooper QC (1983) (QC-2010)

Tom Price QC (1985) (QC-2010)

Paul Hynes QC (1987) (QC-2010)

Jo Sidhu QC (1993) (QC-2012)

Tyrone Smith QC (1994) (QC-2014)

Adrian Eissa QC (1988) (QC-2018)

Simon Pentol QC (1982) (QC-2019)

Nicola Howard QC (1995) (QC-2019)

Jonathan Mitchell (1974)

Chester Beyts (1978)

Bill Maley (1982)

Colin Wells (1987)

Helen Valley (1990)

Arlette Piercy (1990)

Emma Akuwudike (1992)

Harry Potter (1993)

Aisling Byrnes (1994)

Osman Osman (1995)

Carolina Guiloff (1996)

Daniel Murray (1996)

Samantha Riggs (1996)

Nathaniel Rudolf (1996)

Sebastian Gardiner (1997)

Dermot Keating (1997)

Melanie Simpson (1998)

Dominic Thomas (1998)

Mark Stevens (1998)

Beth O’Reilly (1999)

Michael Neofytou (1999)

Ben Smitten (1999)

Laurie-Anne Power (2000)

Geoffrey Payne (2000)

Sheryl Nwosu (2000)

Sonal Dashani (2002)

Michael Gomulka (2002)

Monica Stevenson (2004)

Rebecca Randall (2005)

Matt Radstone (2005)

Paul Lazarus (2017) (HCA 2005)

Daniel Chadwick (2006)

Sam Blom-Cooper (2006)

Lisa Wilson (2006)

Alex Jamieson (2007)

Priya Malhotra (2007)

David Wood (2007)

Alex Di Francesco (2008)

Rob Shaw (2008)

Emma Stuart-Smith (2009)

Sushil Kumar (2009)

Abimbola Johnson (2011)

Duncan Jones (2012)

Henry Dickson (2012)

Leon Lynch (2012)

Laura Collier (2013)

Tom Flavin (2013)

Zeenat Islam (2013)

Natasha Lloyd-Owen (2013)

Vida Simpeh (2014)

Joy Lewis (2014)

Kerrie Ann Rowan (2015)

Nicholas Murphy (2015)