Firm / Organisation

Essex Court Chambers

This content is provided by Essex Court Chambers.

Senior Clerk: Joe Ferrigno
Team Leaders: Ben Perry, Jack Wood, Katie Myles, Kevin Grubb
Office Manager: Lisa Nwachukwu
Tenants: 94

Essex Court Chambers is a leading set of barristers’ chambers, specialising in commercial and financial litigation, arbitration, public law and public international law.

Members of Chambers are recognised specialists in all areas of commercial law and handle disputes across the full spectrum of the business and financial world, including banking and finance, civil fraud, corporate/ chancery and offshore, insurance and reinsurance, energy, trade, shipping, revenue, and employment.

Chambers is not a firm, nor are its members partners or employees. Rather, Chambers is comprised of individual barristers, each of whom is a self-employed sole practitioner. Members of Chambers are commonly retained by opposing sides in the same dispute, both in litigation and arbitration, with protocols in place to safeguard confidentiality. As well as acting on opposing sides, individuals appear in front of other members acting impartially as Deputy Judges or Arbitrators.

The barristers at Essex Court Chambers advise and act in disputes both in the UK and worldwide. They have a reputation for exceptional talent, top-class advocacy and a client-oriented approach.

Annual market research and award ceremonies confirm that members are consistently recognised as leading individuals by clients and peers in a number of key areas, but most notably: international commercial arbitration; commercial dispute resolution; civil fraud; public international law; banking and finance; employment; energy and natural resources; indirect tax; insurance; shipping and commodities; professional negligence; media, entertainment and sport; civil liberties and human rights; administrative and public law; information technology; immigration; aviation; EU and competition; offshore litigation; commercial chancery; and insolvency and corporate recovery.

The strong international nature of chambers differentiates it from other practices. It has barristers qualified to practise in non-UK jurisdictions and with a wide range of commercial language skills.

Chambers typically offers up to four funded 12 month tenancy seeking pupillages per year. Applications should be made via the Pupillage Gateway. Applicants for pupillage are encouraged to undertake a mini-pupillage (of 1-2 days). Information about mini-pupillage, including deadlines for minipupillage applications and an online application form, is available at


Ian Hunter QC (1967) (QC-1980)

V V Veeder QC (1971) (QC-1986)

Richard Siberry QC (1974) (QC-1989)

Franklin Berman QC (1966) (QC-1992)

Roderick Cordara QC (1975) (QC-1994)

Simon Crookenden QC (1975) (QC-1996)

Jeffrey Gruder QC (1977) (QC-1997)

Andrew Hochhauser QC (1977) (QC-1997)

David Mildon QC (1980) (QC-2000)

Graham Dunning QC (1982) (QC-2001)

Steven Berry QC (1984) (QC-2002)

Malcolm Shaw QC (1988) (QC-2002)

Mark Templeman QC (1981) (QC-2003)

David Joseph QC (1984) (QC-2003)

Richard Millett QC (1985) (QC-2003)

Joe Smouha QC (1986) (QC-2003)

Huw Davies QC (1985) (QC-2006)

Martin Griffiths QC (1986) (QC-2006)

John Lockey QC (1987) (QC-2006)

David Foxton QC (1989) (QC-2006)

Hugh Mercer QC (1985) (QC-2008)

Vernon Flynn QC (1991) (QC-2008)

Vaughan Lowe QC (1993) (QC-2008)

Toby Landau QC (1993) (QC-2008)

Christopher Smith QC (1989) (QC-2009)

Claire Blanchard QC (1992) (QC-2010)

Paul Stanley QC (1993) (QC-2010)

Daniel Oudkerk QC (1992) (QC-2010)

Paul McGrath QC (1994) (QC-2011)

James Collins QC (1995) (QC-2012)

Nigel Eaton QC (1991) (QC-2013)

Stephen Houseman QC (1995) (QC-2013)

Paul Key QC (1997) (QC-2013)

Sam Wordsworth QC (1997) (QC-2013)

Charles Ciumei QC (1991) (QC-2014)

David Scorey QC (1997) (QC-2015)

Nathan Pillow QC (1997) (QC-2015)

David Craig QC (1997) (QC-2015)

Ricky Diwan QC (1998) (QC-2015)

Salim Moollan QC (1998) (QC-2016)

Philippa Hopkins QC (1994) (QC-2018)

Edmund King QC (1999) (QC-2018)

Jern-Fei Ng QC (2004) (QC-2018)

Professor Dan Sarooshi QC (2005) (QC-2018)

Shane Doyle QC (2001) (QC-1995) Australia

Alan Boyle (1977)

Philippa Watson (1988)

John Snider (1982)

Brian Dye (1991)

Martin Hunter (1994)

Martin Lau (1996)

Neil Hart (1998)

Louise Hutton (1998)

Ruth den Besten (2001)

Iain Quirk (2002)

David Davies (2004)

Edward Brown (2002)

Jeremy Brier (2004)

Jessica Wells (2004)

Jane Russell (2004)

Ciaran Keller (2004)

Tim Akkouh (2004)

Damien Walker (2006)

David Peters (2005)

Siddharth Dhar (2005)

James Willan (2006)

Emily Wood (2006)

Amy Sander (2006)

David Walsh (2007)

Tom Ford (2008)

Anton Dudnikov (2008)

Anna Dilnot (2008)

James Sheehan (2008)

Catherine Jung (2010)

Adam Board (2010)

Professor Chester Brown (2010)

Andrew Legg (2010)

John Robb (2011)

Claudia Renton (2011)

Rebecca Akushie (2012)

Adam Woolnough (2012)

Peter Webster (2012)

Helen Morton (2013)

Richard Hoyle (2013)

Stuart Cribb (2013)

Lucas Bastin (2013)

Felix Wardle (2014)

Jackie McArthur (2015)

Bibek Mukherjee (2015)

Stephen Donnelly (2016)

Naomi Hart (2016)

Benedict Tompkins (2016)

Owen Lloyd (2016)

Luke Tattersall (2016)

Wei Jian Chan (2017)

Freddie Onslow (2017)

Mubarak Waseem (2017)

Mark Belshaw (2018)

Freddie Popplewell (2018)

David Baker (2018)