Firm / Organisation

Brick Court Chambers

Current View:

This content is provided by Brick Court Chambers.

Heads of Chambers: Mark Howard QC, Helen Davies QC
Senior Clerks: Tony Burgess, Paul Dennison
Tenants: 91

THE CHAMBERS There are 91 members who practise full-time, including 44 QCs.

WORK UNDERTAKEN Banking, finance, insurance, reinsurance, shipping, private international law, professional negligence, media and entertainment law, takeovers and mergers, sports law and public international law. An outstanding team of EU and competition litigation specialists appear in all English courts and tribunals, before the CMA and CAT, the Court of Justice and General Court. With expertise in human rights and in commercial and regulatory judicial review the set combines strengths in public, commercial and EU law.
Key cases: TGTL v CATS; 116 Cardamon Ltd v Macalister; KeyMed Ltd v Hillman and Woodford; Cathay Pacific Airlines Ltd v Lufthansa Technik AG; The Federal Republic of Nigeria v JP Morgan Chase; AssetCo Plc v Grant Thornton UK; Manchester Building Society v Grant Thornton UK; Trucks damages litigation (individual and collective proceedings); FX damages litigation; Roll-on roll-off damages litigation; Media-Saturn Holding GmbH and others v Toshiba Information Systems and ors; Electro Rent Corporation v Competition and Markets Authority; Campaign Against Arms Trade v The Secretary of State for International Trade.


Mark Howard QC (1980) (QC-1996)

Helen Davies QC (1991) (QC-2008)

Hilary Heilbron QC (1971) (QC-1987)

Richard Gordon QC (1972) (QC-1994)

Stephen Ruttle QC (1976) (QC-1997)

William Wood QC (1980) (QC-1998)

Charles Hollander QC (1978) (QC-1999) (2015 HK)

Lord Anderson KBE QC (1985) (QC-1999)

Catharine Otton-Goulder QC (1983) (QC-2000)

Richard Lord QC (1981) (QC-2002)

Michael Swainston QC (1985) (QC-2002)

James Flynn QC (1978) (QC-2003)

Neil Calver QC (1987) (QC-2006)

Tom Adam QC (1991) (QC-2008)

Tim Lord QC (1992) (QC-2008)

Fergus Randolph QC (1985) (QC-2009)

Mark Hoskins QC (1991) (QC-2009)

Aidan Robertson QC (1995) (QC-2009)

Richard Slade QC (1987) (QC-2010)

Harry Matovu QC (1988) (QC-2010)

Jemima Stratford QC (1993) (QC-2010)

Daniel Jowell QC (1995) (QC-2011)

Simon Salzedo QC (1995) (QC-2011)

Michael Bools QC (1991) (QC-2012)

Paul Bowen QC (1993) (QC-2012)

Marie Demetriou QC (1995) (QC-2012)

Andrew Henshaw QC (2000) (QC-2013)

Roger Masefield QC (1985) (QC-2013)

Jasbir Dhillon QC (1996) (QC-2013)

Martin Chamberlain QC (1997) (QC-2013)

Kelyn Bacon QC (1998) (QC-2014)

Simon Birt QC (1998) (QC-2015)

Sarah Lee QC (1990) (QC-2016)

Maya Lester QC (2000) (QC-2016)

Thomas Plewman QC (2009) (QC-2016)

Jeremy Gauntlett QC (1993) (SC-1989 SA) (QC- 2017)

Robert O’Donoghue QC (1996) (QC-2017)

Stephen Midwinter (2002) QC (QC-2017)

Sarah Ford QC (2002) (QC-2017)

Nicholas Saunders QC (2001 (QC-2018)

Alec Haydon (1993) (QC-2019)

Margaret Gray (1998) (QC-2019)

Fionn Pilbrow (2001) (QC-2019)

Victoria Wakefield (2003) (QC- 2019)

Peter Irvin (1971) A

Paul Wright (1990)

Alan Roxburgh (1992)

Andrew Thomas (1996)

Klaus Reichert SC (1996 E&W) (1992 IRL) (SC-2010 IRL)

Colin West (1999)

Tony Willis (2004) David Scannell (2003)

Gerard Rothschild (2005)

Jonathan Dawid (2005)

Fred Hobson (2005)

Sarah Abram (2006)

Sarah Love (2006)

Tony Singla (2007)

Richard Blakeley (2007)

Richard Eschwege (2008)

Edward Harrison (2008)

Craig Morrison (2008)

Laura Newton (2009)

Edward Ho (2009)

Daniel Piccinin (2010)

Max Schaefer (2010)

Michael Bolding (2010)

Tim Johnston (2011)

Malcolm Birdling (2011)

David Bailey (2012)

Geoffrey Kuehne (2012)

Andrew McInytre (2011)

Emily MacKenzie (2012) Joanne Box (2012)

Kyle Lawson (2012)

Zahra Al-Rikabi (2012)

Hugo Leith (2013 E&W; NY) (2008 W Australia)

Jennifer MacLeod (2013 E&W; NY)

Charlotte Thomas (2013)

Tom Pascoe (2013)

Matthew Kennedy (2013)

Ben Woolgar (2014)

Sophie Shaw (2015)

David Heaton (2015) (2010 Victoria, Australia)

Emma Mockford (2016)

Aaron Khan (2016)

Tom Wood (2017)

Jonathan Scott (2017)

Jon Lawrence (2018)

Frederick Wilmot-Smith (2018)

Richard Howell (2018)

Lord Phillips (1962) (QC-1978)*

Lord Hoffmann (1964) (QC-1977)*

Lord Hope (1965 Scotland) (QC-1989 Scotland)*

Sir Richard Aikens (1973) (QC-1986)*

Sir Christopher Clarke (1969) (QC-1984)*

Sir Oliver Popplewell (1951) (QC-1969)* Sir Roger Buckley (1962) (QC-1979)*

HH Nicholas Chambers QC (1966) (QC-1985)*

Sir Sydney Kentridge QC (1977) (QC-1984)*

Sir Nicholas Forwood QC (1970) (QC-1987)*

Prof Richard Macrory CBE (1974)*

Johnny Mok SC (1986 Hong Kong) (SC-2006 Hong Kong)*

Judge Fidelma Macken SC (1973 IRL) (1987 E&W) (SC-1995 IRL)*

Mark Hapgood QC (1979) (QC-1994)*

Mark Cran QC (1973) (QC-1988)*

Timothy Charlton QC (1971) (QC-1993)*

John Sturrock QC (1986 Scotland) (QC-1999 Scotland)*

Simon Thorley QC (1972) (QC-1989)*

Robert Webb QC (1971) (QC-1988)*

Alastair Sutton (1972)*

Prof Peter Muchlinski (1981)*

Jan Woloniecki (1983)*

Mads Andenas QC (Hon) (1986 Norway) (1997 E&W)*

Prof Andrew Le Sueur (1987)*

Prof Robert McCorquodale (2011)*

Geoff Sharp (1992 NZ)*

Oliver Jones (2009)*

* Door Tenant

A Public/Direct Access

Articles, Highlights and Press Releases

Total 78 Articles, Highlights and Press Releases

Supreme Court invokes EU Equality Directive to disapply common law judicial immunity

Paul Bowen QC

Read now
Kensington & Chelsea TMO AGM adjourned in “first battle win” for Grenfell victims

Andrew Henshaw QC

Read now
Court of Appeal rules gender segregation in school constitutes unlawful sex discrimination

Martin Chamberlain QC

Read now