Firm / Organisation

12 King's Bench Walk

Current View:

This content is provided by 12 King's Bench Walk.

Head of Chambers: Paul Russell QC
Director of Clerking: Oliver Parkhouse
Senior Clerk: Graham Johnson
Tenants: 94

12 King’s Bench Walk is a leading civil set, with 94 members, 11 of which are Queen’s Counsel. 12KBW is at the forefront of developments in the law, having been instructed in many of the leading tort cases of recent times and is best known for bringing and defending personal injury, industrial disease, and clinical negligence claims as well as employment law.

Personal Injury:
Members specialise in the full range of personal injury claims. 12KBW appeared in: Dryden v Johnson Matthey; Cameron v Hussain & LV Insurance; UK Insurance Ltd v (1) Thomas Holden (2) R & S Pilling trading as Phoenix Engineering; Bellman v Northampton Recruitment Ltd; X v Kuoni Travel; Swift v Carpenter and Pinkus v Direct Line.
Industrial Disease: Leading specialists at the bar appearing in prominent cases. Expertise in asbestos litigation is unrivalled, with members instructed in some of the most significant cases, such as Dryden v Johnson Matthey and Bussey v Anglia Heating Ltd.
Clinical Negligence: 12KBW has a large and well-regarded clinical negligence team, acting on behalf of both claimants and defendants, including NHS Trusts, medical defence organisations, privately insured practitioners and private hospitals.
Employment & Discrimination: Members handle the full spectrum of employment, discrimination and commercial employment cases. It has strength in the cross-over between employment and personal injury law, such as workplace stress claims, disability discrimination following an industrial accident, and discrimination in the education and services sectors.
International & Travel: Instructed in key travel and aviation cases, including Hoteles Pinero Canarias v Keefe, Noble Caledonia v Air Niugini, X v Kuoni, Clay v TUI and Xstrata. 12KBW offers leading expertise on jurisdiction, applicable law, package travel, aviation and multi-party litigation. 12KBW are often instructed by motor insurers in cross-border road traffic accidents, including domestic proceedings brought against foreign insurers, and proceedings brought directly against English insurers or the Motor Insurers’ Bureau in respect of accidents abroad.
Insurance: Regularly instructed across policy coverage areas, including employer’s and public liability, professional indemnity, and motor and property damage policies.
ADR: 12KBW provides a professional and effective ADR service, particularly in personal injury and related areas. It also deals with all areas of law and legal disputes, including those with an international dimension.


Paul Russell QC (1984) (QC-2011)

Ronald Walker QC (1962) (QC-1983)

Richard Methuen QC (1972) (QC-1997)

Andrew Hogarth QC (1974) (QC-2003)

Gerard Martin QC (1978) (QC-2000)

Stephen Worthington QC (1976) (QC-2006)

William Featherby QC (1978) (QC-2008)

Michael Rawlinson QC (1991) (QC-2009)

William Audland QC (1992) (QC-2015)

Harry Steinberg QC (1997) (QC-2016)

Steven Snowden QC (1989) (QC-2017)

David Sanderson (1985)

Nigel Lewers (1986)

Henry Charles (1987)

Andrew Pickering (1987)

Hugh Hamill (1988)

Philip Mead (1989)

Adam Chambers (1989)

Catherine Brown (1990)

Kate Chandler (1990)

Ivan Bauley (1990)

Michael Brace (1991)

James Candlin (1991)

Patrick Vincent (1992)

Stephanie Jackson (1992)

Joel Kendall (1993)

Arun Katyar (1993)

Richard Viney (1994)

Carolyn D’Souza (1994)

Daniel Tobin (1994)

Marcus Dignum (1994)

Catherine Peck (1995)

Brian McCluggage (1995)

Louise Thomson (1996)

Simon P John (1996)

Gordon Aber (1996)

Benedict Leech (1997)

Pankaj Madan (1997)

Kweku Aggrey-Orleans (1998)

David Callow (1998)

Martina Murphy (1998)

David White (1999)

Lisa Stephenson (1999)

David Sharpe (1999)

Andrew Ward (2000)

Charlotte Reynolds (2001)

Angela Frost (2001)

Laura Robinson (2001)

Andrew Roy (2002)

Anna Symington (2002)

Mary Newnham (2003)

James Sullivan (2005)

Gemma Scott (2005)

Charlotte Law (2005)

Patrick Kerr (2006)

Sarah Beslee (2006)

Alex Carington (2006)

John-Paul Swoboda (2006)

Roisin Kennedy (2006)

Emily Read (2007)

Charles Robertshaw (2007)

Hollie Patterson (2008)

Niall Maclean (2008)

Thomas Pacey (2008)

Lois Aldred (2008)

Thea Wilson (2008)

Oliver Rudd (2009)

Vanessa Cashman (2009)

Ghazaleh Rezaie (2009)

Thomas Banks (2010)

Nina Ross (2010)

Rachit Buch (2010)

Daniel Sokol (2011)

Isaac Hogarth (2011)

Aliyah Akram (2012)

Edward Ramsay (2012)

Achas Burin (2012)

Andrew Watson (2013)

James Beeton (2013)

Farhana Mukith (2013)

Jeremy McKeown (2013)

Max Archer (2014)

George White (2014)

Kate Boakes (2014)

David Green (2015)

Ted Cunningham (2015)

Elizabeth Boulden (2016)

Spencer Turner (2016)

Charley Turnton (2017)

Helen Waller (2017)

Craig Murray (2017)

Christopher Flemming (2017)

Georgina Churchhouse (2017)

Henry King (2018)