Firm / Organisation

Kings Chambers

Current View:

This content is provided by Kings Chambers.

Chambers Director: Debra Andrés
Senior Clerks: William Brown, Gary Young, Stephen Loxton
Senior Birmingham Clerk: Gary Smith
Senior Leeds Clerk: Louise Barnes

THE CHAMBERS Kings Chambers is ranked one of the country’s leading sets. It provides barristers with the highest reputation for advocacy, knowledge and standard of service. This is a large specialist set with a national reputation practising from Manchester, Leeds and Birmingham in several practice areas: predominantly business and property law; planning and environmental law, personal injury and clinical negligence, costs, employment, EU and competition, sports law, mediation, arbitration (international and domestic) and public law.


Arbitration: Kings Chambers has a number of members with practices encompassing domestic and international arbitration. Chambers has also launched its own bespoke arbitration service (KAS) offering a panel of experienced arbitrators including former judges and silks from other jurisdictions.

Business & Property: The business and property group has extensive experience in litigation (including agency, contracts, sale of goods, restraint of trade and restrictive covenants, corporate law); corporate and personal insolvency (including winding up, administration, administrative receivership and tracing assets), banking and professional negligence. Residential and commercial landlord and tenant work (including renewals, rent review, possession claims, arbitrations), partnership and all aspects of property and conveyancing. Chambers also undertakes trusts and probate work and has growing specialist team in construction disputes.

Clinical Negligence & Personal Injury: The clinical negligence and personal injury team undertake work involving serious personal injury claims, all aspects of clinical negligence and occupational disease with a particular focus on asbestos and other forms of toxic exposure. The team also specialises in chronic pain and related conditions.

Costs: There is a specialist and dedicated costs team, practising exclusively in costs law, disputes and litigation funding.

Employment: The employment team covers the entire spectrum of employment law and has particular strengths in race, sex, equal pay, restrictive covenants and disability discrimination both in tribunals and in the High Court.

EU & Competition: Chambers has a small and dedicated team dealing with EU and competition law, including cartels, dominance, mergers, market investigations, litigation, public procurement, state aid, trading agreements and compliance.

Mediation: Mediation is an important part of the litigation process. The team comprises accredited mediators at various levels and with expertise in differing areas of law.

Planning: Kings Chambers is one of the largest planning and environmental chambers, with members appearing before a wide range of dedicated tribunals and inquiries. Chambers acts in planning appeals and major inquiries for a wide variety of clients and local authorities. Kings also has extensive experience in environmental law including waste disposal and management, energy, compulsory purchase compensation and highways.

Public Law: The public law group practises extensively in the Administrative Court, sitting in London and the regions. The group encompasses the range of public law work in community care, education, housing, mental health, licensing, local government and social security matters. Members advise and appear before courts at all levels.

Sports Law: The sports law team have been involved in some of the most substantial and high profile sports cases nationally in recent years involving, commercial dispute resolution, disciplinary and regulatory proceedings, anti-doping rules, employment issues, sports-related personal injury, breach of confidentiality and privacy, wealth management issues, intellectual property including image rights, trademark infringement and breach of copyright.


Nigel Poole QC (1989) (QC-2012)

Stephen J. Sauvain QC (1977) (QC-1995)

Dr N. Braslavsky QC (1983) (QC-1999)

Vincent Fraser QC (1981) (QC-2001)

Paul Chaisty QC (1982) (QC-2001)

Richard Clayton QC (1977) (QC-2002)

Satinder Hunjan QC (1984) (QC-2002)

David Manley QC (1981) (QC-2003)

Lesley Anderson QC (1989) (QC-2006)

Anthony Crean QC (1987) (QC-2006)

David Casement QC (1992) (QC-2008)

Michael Rawlinson QC (1991 (QC-2009)

Paul Tucker QC (1990) (QC-2010)

Mark Harper QC (1993) (QC-2016)

Sam Karim QC (2002) (QC-2017)

Andrew Singer (1990) (QC-2018)

Eric Owen (1969)

Jeffrey Terry (1976)

Shokat Khan (1979)

John Barrett (1982)

Neil Berragan (1982)

Alan Evans (1978)

Michael Stephens (1983)

Gary Grant (1985)

Simon Hilton (1987)

Nigel Clayton (1987)

Ruth Stockley (1988)

Fiona Ashworth (1988)

Simon Burrows (1990)

Matthew Smith (1991)

Andrew Grantham (1991)

Adam Aldred (2014)

Martin Carter (1992)

Wilson Horne (1992)

Lucy Powis (1992)

Sarah Pritchard (1993)

Richard Lander (1993)

Ian Ponter (1993)

Sarah Clover (1993)

James Boyd (1994)

Kelly Pennifer (1994)

Michael Ditchfield (1993)

Andrew Latimer (1995)

Anna Diamond (1995)

Gavin McBride (1996)

Jeremy Roussak (1996)

Louis Doyle (1996)

Jonathan Easton (1996)

Simon Young (1998)

Simon Plaut (1997)

Colin Bourne (1997)

Stephen Maguire (2007)

Giles Cannock (1998)

Andrew McGee (1998)

Leo Charalambides (1998)

Matthew Hall (1999)

Helen Mulholland (1999)

Martin Budworth (1999)

Tina Ranales-Cotos (1999)

Eleanor Temple (2000)

Lisa Walmisley(2000)

Brian Griffiths (1999)

Paul Lakin (2000)

Paul Hughes (2001)

Ben Williams (2001)

Geraint Wheatley (2001)

Rupert Beloff (2001)

Claire Steward (2002)

Craig Ralph (2002)

Michael Rudd (2002)

John Hunter (2002)

Emily Duckworth (2003)

Sarah Lawrenson (2003)

Sarah Reid (2004)

Francesca Gardner (2004)

Rachel Galloway (2004)

Sophie Allan (2004)

Helen Trotter (2004)

Anisa Niaz-Dickinson (2004)

Charlotte Law (2005)

Ben Harding (2005)

Cheryl Dainty (2006)

Richard Livingston (2006)

Johnny Ward (2007)

Nathan Smith (2007)

Kevin Latham (2007)

Stephen McNamara (2008)

Anthony Gill (2008)

Eleanor d’Arcy (2008)

Laura Gould (2009)

Richard Borrett (2009)

Louise Green (2009)

Eliza Sharron (2009)

Francesca P Gardner (2009)

Ruth Taylor (2010)

Jonathan Wright (2010)

Aidan Reay (2011)

Freddie Humphreys (2011)

Jasmine Skander (2011)

Fay Collinson (2011)

Philip Robson (2011)

Erica Bedford (2012)

Douglas Cochran (2012)

Sam Harmel (2013)

Arianna Kelly (2013)

Constanze Bell (2013)

Nicholas Truelove (2013)

Killian Garvey (2014)

Chelsea Carter (2014)

Marcus F Daly SC (1987) (SC-1999)*

Colm o’hOisin SC (1988) (SC-2005)*

Michael Bowsher QC (1985) (QC-2006)*

Dr Mark Friston (1997)*

Prof. Andrew Keay (2010)*

Salma Duncan (2012)*

Sir Maurice Kay (1975) (1988)+

Judge David Gilliland (1964) (1984)+


+ Arbitrator