Firm / Organisation

Ely Place Chambers

Current View:

This content is provided by Ely Place Chambers.

Head of Chambers: William McCormick QC
Chambers Director: Michael Couling
Senior Clerk: Richard Sheehan 07870128617
Deputy Senor Clerk: Kevin Morrow 07736288055
Practice Managers: Dave Lovitt 07795233444, Laura Ivanauskiene 
Junior Clerk: Henry Crouch
Tenants: 34

THE CHAMBERS Ely Place is an established barristers’ chambers with a forward thinking approach and traditional values. Based in the heart of legal London, Chambers specialises in business, property and employment law but also have significant niche practices in private client, media, sport, regulatory and public law.

The set’s business team provides swift, sound, practical advice to help its clients make effective and fully informed commercial decisions. Working with other legal professionals and businesses alike on the full range of business matters, from corporate disputes to individual insolvency.
Media & Sport: The media and sports team offers advice on a wide range of issues, from defamation claims to data protection breaches and employment law disputes. Specialist barristers work with media corporations and private individuals through to sports clubs and personalities.
Property & Private Client: The property and private client team offers expertise on the full range of property law and private client matters. Providing advice and advocacy on everything from boundary disputes to commercial dilapidations; private client experts have comprehensive knowledge of wills, probate and trusts.
Employment: The employment team provides expertise on all aspects of employment law, from discrimination to whistleblowing. As well as offering advice to prevent workplace disputes from arising, the barristers can also represent both employers and employees in tribunals, the EAT as well as the High Court and appellate courts.
Public & Regulatory: The public and regulatory team provides advice and advocacy on the full range of issues in this arena, including health and safety, environmental law and judicial review. The set represents public bodies as well as individuals and their families.


William McCormick QC (1985) (QC-2010)A

Winston Roddick QC (1968) (QC-1986)

Nicholas Stewart QC (1971) (QC-1987)A ± Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Arbitrators

Malcolm Bishop QC (1968) (QC-1993)A +

Richard Clayton QC (1977) (QC 2002)* A

Clifford Darton QC (1988)A

William Evans (1977)A + ±

Michael Patchett-Joyce (1981) A

Timothy Atkinson (1988) A

Leslie Millin (1988)A

Jeffrey Bacon (1989)A

Iain Daniels (1992)

Angus Gloag (1992)A

Craig Barlow (1992)A

Ali Reza Sinai (1997)A

Simon Perhar (1997)A ±

Gillian Crew (1998)A ±

Michael Salter (1999)A

James Newman (2000)A

Faisel Sadiq (2000)A

John Samson (2001)A ±

Sally Blackmore (2003)A

David Mitchell (2004)A **

Philipp Simon (2004)A

Amy Stroud (2004)A

Thomas Kirk (2007)A **

George Woodhead (2009)A

Paul Powlesland (2009)A

Catherine Urquhart (2010)A

Max Cole (2011)A

Nicholas Williams (2013)A

Richard Bottomley (2013)A

Beth Grossman (2016)A

Christopher Burrows (2016) A

Door Tenants

David Hughes (1997)

Naveeta Sawh

District Judge Russell Stone

Bushra Ahmed (2001)

Paul Hughes

Om Lalla (Trinidad) (1994)

Scott Pearman (Bermuda) (1999)

+ Recorder

* Deputy High Court Judge

A Public Access Approved

** Treasury Counsel

± CEDR Accredited